January 25, 2017

One of the things about sharing so much on your blog is people feel the need to help.  And I really appreciate it, but just know I’m fully aware my rockbottom is first world rockbottom.  I’m not digging a well for my water, I’m bouncing checks at the grocery store.  And I’m fine.  It’s all fine.  But to my sister who sent me a new air compressor, thank you, I do have a lot of tire problems!

Did I tell you they sold my company? Oh Lord, is that going to be rockbottom?  I don’t know if you remember but one of the reasons I’m so low is I lost my job a few years ago and it’s been a long, hard journey to get back up to where I was.  When I wonder if I’m a grudgeholder, I remember that I’d kill punch that guy if I ever saw him again.  To recap, I was at the same company for 17 years without so much as a reprimand and I get a  new boss who got rid of me for no reason in six months. Thanks for nothing, asshole.

Anywho, so last week the owner of my company sends an email that says, Good news!  I’ve sold the company and am retiring.  Well, good news for you maybe, but for anyone else who struggles, maybe not so good news.  And considering I’m going to have to work five years past death, not good news for me.  This is the guy who was complaining about his box seats at the Broncos game and wondering if he could get better ones.  Let’s just say, he’s not down with the common man/woman.  His daughter works at the company and comes in two days a week to run her dog charity.  Every time I think about it, I want to make my dad come back from the dead to punch him for not setting me up like that.  I’d hug him first, of course, I’m not a monster.

The press release came out today.  So let’s say my company makes aglets.  They’re the plastic things on the end of shoelaces.  We were bought by a company who owns a lot of companies and they put us with the other company they own who makes aglets.  Luckily it looks like we make different enough aglets that we’ll both be in business as least for a while.  The other aglet company is in Pennsylvania and that is not one of my dreams when Tenderheart leaves for college, but I guess we’ll see.

Additionally today I had a peanut butter and jelly sandwich for lunch with creamy peanut butter because I had taken the crunchy to work.  #firstworldproblems.

Then I went to Chick-fil-a for dinner because I haven’t been to the store and Tenderheart gets a discount.  She also had to find someone to cover her Saturday shift because she has a practice test and always waits until the last minute.

And then the rockbottom of it, I overnighted Moonshine her glasses yesterday because the swooper changed their insurance again and it’s a company who doesn’t do business in Oklahoma so I had to get her appointment and order her glasses while she was here and then mail them.  I spent $29 to overnight them and as of this writing at 9:42pm on January 25th, the glasses are currently in Saint Louis.  Well, of course they are.  Why wouldn’t they be?  And then I try not to be that person because Tenderheart does that.  Like, of course that’s my luck.  Of course that happened, like I’m cursed, because I know I’m not, but of course that would have to happen on something I was sending to Moonshine.  Something she needs badly.

Before Christmas, some guy at the Student Union was waving at someone else and knocked her in the face and broke her glasses.  Just think about that for a second.  Some poor guy was excited to see someone and threw his hand up and hit Moonshine right in the face.  As soon as I stopped laughing I realized he’d also broken her glasses.  Of course he felt sorry, but what was he going to do?  And you just have to wonder how many people he’s told that story to…while laughing, of course.

Leave a Reply

