Rockin’ Tenderheart: Subtweet, Subtweet, Subtweet

Sunshine was talking to someone from her school and they were talking about this annoying person in their class and she told him, Yeah, I texted my mom to tell her he’s so annoying.  And the guy said, You text your mom that stuff?  And Sunshine said, Ummm….yes.

Moonshine called me because she was geocaching and was stung by a wasp.  She didn’t know what to do.  I said some crap because most of my life is making stuff up and I told her to make mud and put it over it and the stinger would come out.  Little did I know, wasps don’t have stingers, they have venom, but the mud mask kept her busy until she could wash her hands.  Tenderheart asked if I thought other people did that, if other people call their mom for everything.  I said, I have no idea, maybe.  I asked if she thought it was weird and she said she didn’t know what she’d do if she couldn’t call me for everything.

When my kids were little, I read a lot and listened to a lot of public radio about parenting and someone said, You have to talk to them about the little things or they’ll never come to you with the big things.  So I started asking more specific questions than, How was your day?  I would ask who they had lunch with and who’d they play with on recess and the little minutia they might forget if I just did a blanket, how was your day?  Now, I don’t claim to be any kind of expert, but it really worked for my kids and to this day, Tenderheart still goes through her day period by period to tell me what happened.  And doing it like that, she remembers stuff that she’d have forgotten if we just did a generic, how was your day?

My friend said, you do that every day?  And I said, Yes, and she said, Sounds exhausting.  Well, it is, but it’s also that time with just us where I can find out how she’s doing and what she’s doing and how she’s feeling about things.  She tells me her struggles and her triumphs and it’s really fun to see her going back over her day in her mind and saying, Well, first period… and then second period…  It was so hard not being here for the first week of school because when I got home and told her to go back over her days, there was stuff she’d forgotten to tell me but that she really wanted me to know.  But wouldn’t you rather know more than less?

And then some days I have to go on Twitter to see how she’s feeling and to see if she’s subtweeted me that day, but I’ll take the ups and the downs with these little suckers.

Leave a Reply

