Keep Calm and Grill On

I pride myself on being self-sufficient.  Now, occasionally I have to call someone to catch a mouse our cat’s brought in or I need a ride to or from the mechanic. I can’t do everything.  But I try and show my girls that we can do things for ourselves and not rely on someone else.  The problem is I’m a strong single mom who was raised by a strong single mom who was raised by a strong single mom so I have trouble asking for help.  I’m better now, but I still do almost everything on my own.

Moonshine’s beau who I called Beaux came over one night for dinner and I was grilling.  When she told him I was grilling burgers he asked her if I needed help with the grill.  She looked at him and said, I’m not going to tell my mom you said that because she would kill you.  And I didn’t need help with the grill, I grill all the time.  I’m who we have around here to grill.  And yes, of course, it would be nice to have someone do that for me, but that’s not our circumstance.  Beaux tries to do things for Moonshine and she’s like, I’ve got it, I don’t need help.  I’ve also told her that boys like to feel needed so she could let him do some things for her.  She’s working on that.  She did let him come over and fix our door that was sticking and he fixed it….for exactly one day.  The next day it fell and we started all over again.  My stepdad fixed it that time.

Did I tell you yesterday that Tenderheart was filming a masterpiece on Snapchat and left my key turned in my car overnight so it was dead dead when I limped out to go to work?  Well, I tried jumping that stupid car all day to no avail.  I had a battery charger, I used Moonshine’s car, I used Tenderheart’s car.  I read the instructions, I watched a video online, and nothing, I just couldn’t figure it out.  I’m a relatively smart woman, and damn it if I just couldn’t get it started.  I was so mad at Tenderheart but I knew she didn’t do it on purpose, she was just being inattentive and vain.

About an hour after everyone went to work I got a text from Beaux saying Moonshine had told him something was wrong with my car and did I need some help.  You could tell he was really tentative and didn’t want to get skewered for his offer, but I jumped on it and asked if he would mind.  He has a POS so he has to work on his truck a lot.  He pulled his truck into the garage and he couldn’t figure out what the problem was.  My battery setup is really weird and it has a remote positive post and the negative post was somewhere buried in the engine.  He had to read the book and finally figured it out and got it started.  Then he showed me where it was so I would know next time.

Then he jokingly asked me if I wanted him to look at my ankle because he’s a doctor too, and I told him to leave the playing doctor to my daughter and keep his hands off my ankle.  However, I did give him a hug.  I warned him it was happening and he gladly accepted it.  I don’t know if you’ve heard, I can be an accidental hugger.

Leave a Reply

