Is it weird or nah?

Sometimes my little family is so isolated from other people that I don’t know if something is weird or not. That is, until I mention it to someone else who says, That’s weird. 

I’ve blogged about this before so my fan might think it’s familiar. Moonshine’s best friend since she was three years old was Bubba. I was best friends with his mom and Sunshine was best friends with his sister and they all used to have sleepovers. I didn’t think it was weird until I was mentioning it current day and someone said, What? But he was a boy! Yeah, they probably had sleepovers until they were 11. There was no weird boy/girl stuff, he was just Bubba, her best friend. 

My kids don’t have a curfew. They have to be home when it’s over, whatever it is. I read about it in a parenting book and loved it. It made so much sense. If you give kids a curfew and their event is over at 9, they’re going to find mischief to get into until their curfew. I mentioned it to Moonshine on her way to prom and her boyfriend’s mom told me that he certainly had one and it’s 2.  Well, number one, despite my best efforts she didn’t like me much. I’m an acquired taste and she was a bitch. Second, prom went until 11 and bowling was closing at 2 but they had to leave early and he had to speed to get home and was late anyway. That’s more dangerous in my opinion than just saying, Be home right after bowling, which is what I said. 

We take naps almost every day. I do love a good siesta but Moonshine mentioned that she couldn’t wait to go home and take a nap and her friend couldn’t remember the last time he napped. She said, Wait, everyone doesn’t go home and nap? And he said, Nope. He called her cute and child-like. Same with Tenderheart. If she doesn’t text Marky Mark back within 10 minutes, he tells her to text him when she wakes up. She could really use a nap as part of her day like a kindergartener.  

Every one of them would rather sleep in my bed than in their own. Still. We used to all four sleep in the same bed. Actually everyone started in their own bed but they would all migrate to mine and I would never wake up and take them back. I didn’t care either. I love waking up with those little cuddlers.  

 

Thats all I can think of now but my house is so weird, I’m sure I’ll come up with about a dozen more. 

Wait, as I was writing this, Moonshine just said, “Man, my butt is so gassy.  I don’t think people talk like that in their house. We might be weird!”  She may have a point. 

1 Comment

  1. I LOVE waking up with my little angels in my bed! I love thunderstorms in the middle of the night, because I know that they will come running in my bed 🙂

    Kudos on the liquid curfew…it just makes so much sense. I think I was a little bit like that with my oldest when he was a teenager. It does a better job at teaching responsible behavior.

Leave a Reply

