Maybe keep your hindsight to yourself

My sister pointed out that I haven’t blogged since January. The road to hell is really paved with good intentions. I’ve been blogging a lot in my head. I think I have to make it perfect and get all the tags and the spelling and blah, but here’s the nitty gritty. I told my sister she reminded me just in time for 46 things I love about her coming up at the end of this month. 

Last we left off, Moonshine had a broken heart, really broken. And I love adults who look at me with that look and tell me to tell her to “get over it”. Isn’t hindsight great??  Don’t you wish you could have lived your teen years with all this hindsight. Yeah, I know what she should be doing but I’m not going to be the one to tell her, she has to figure it out just like you did. 

Last week she went on a choir retreat and she said she was ready. She said she was “getting her flirt on”. Good lord, look out, because she certainly did. I was a chaperone and I felt sorry for that kid in jazz band who had no idea what he was in for. And she was fun and flirty and having a blast and it was like the old Moonshine was back. The pre-heartbreak Moonshine. The Moonshine who never said she’d rather be alone than get her heart broken like that again. 

Then flirty Moonshine went to prom. All her “friends” bailed so she went by herself and met people there. She also met victim number two.  And now she has three floating around and I told her to tone down her flirt. Her flirt’s too strong!!  But it’s nice to see a smile and hear her laugh and have my Moonshine back.  

 

Leave a Reply

