Christy’s Hideaway is her Home

It’s very rare that I go out. I’m kind of a homebody. I have a favorite blogger and she writes about her day to day, which is about a billion times more exciting than mine. But then I went out the last two Saturdays in a row. I know, take it easy, Christy.

The first Saturday out, I went to trivia. I’ve said it before, I can agree like nobody’s business.

The second Saturday out was quite a bit more exciting. I went to a bar called Herman’s Hideaway to listen to a battle of the bands. Moonshine’s boyfriend is in two bands and in this one he plays keyboard and saxophone and it’s kind of a reggae feel.

20140708-224009-81609407.jpg
We had special passes with discounted tickets, which must have stumped the guy at the door because he didn’t even look at Moonshine before stamping her hand as 21 and over. 20140708-224128-81688674.jpg
Moonshine and Allyn, both under 21 but one of these things is not like the other.

I almost corrected the guy and then I thought, At least I don’t have to get up to get the drinks, I’ll just send Moonshine, which I didn’t actually do.

And it was a lot of fun. They had to wait for the “record guy” who was running late because someone in Denver was getting a record deal that night!! How exciting! The guy finally showed up wearing long shorts and the skeptic in me thought, Your “label” is in your mom’s basement. The dreamer in me really hopes someone got a deal though.

The club played rap in between sets and I heard some really creative lyrics. I obviously need to broaden my horizons or not.

After that, we went to this place for dinner and I’d been there a couple of times but it’s always been kind of trendy, downtown, live music, and really hard to get into. That must have been a long time ago because we had no trouble walking in at 8:30 on a Saturday night and grabbing a table, which probably doesn’t bode well for them. The food was good but I was disappointed that it wasn’t more hopping, I had just been to a “club” after all. Good lord, I sound like I’m about a hundred. 20140708-224801-82081858.jpg
Look at all those empty booths back there behind my 16-year-old.

I’ll try to do some more exciting things, although I think I said last year I was through trying to make myself sound more interesting. It is what it is, I s’pose.

Leave a Reply

