Sometimes to keep it together, we got to leave it alone.

When I notice the clock and it says 11:11 am or pm, I always announce, “It’s 11:11, your mommy loves you!” to anyone standing around. Always. And for years. On 11/11, I’m even more annoying. You can just imagine me on 11/11/11, stop it. It’s amazing one of these kids hasn’t killed me yet. I’d put money on the little one. 20131111-233450.jpg
I think a lot about wasted time. And why. Like why am I doing this? It’s exhausting, all of it.

“And I could have done so many things, baby, if I could only stop my mind from wondering what I left behind and from worrying about this wasted time.”

I get on kicks and my favorite is crockpot cooking. I love it. So easy, convenient and I totally steal from other blogs so they do all the leg work for me. However, once I tried to cook a turkey in it. Tried being the key word in that sentence. Manhandling that turkey into the crockpot was the closest I’ve ever come to becoming a vegetarian. My turkey was too big or my pot was too small, it didn’t matter, it didn’t fit. Anyway, that thing ended up in the oven, as turkeys should.

“You never thought you’d be alone this far down the line, and I know what’s been on your mind, you’re afraid it’s all been wasted time.”

Sunshine came home from college this weekend. 20131111-233311.jpg
She’s in a constant war with her hair. She wears it short and it’s adorable, but she goes back and forth between wanting to shave it off and grow it out. My kids’ hair is never something I’ve worried about. I’ve let them pick how they want it since they were old enough to express it. Pick your battles.

I’m currently watching one of my favorite movies, French Kiss. “Fester, fester, fester. Rot, rot, rot.” Meg Ryan’s hair is adorable. I once told the swooper I wanted my hair short like hers and he said, Yeah, but she’s pretty. Mmmm’kay.

“So you can get on with your search, baby, and I can get on with mine. And maybe someday we will find that it wasn’t really wasted time.”

3 Comments

  1. oh my gosh, I’ve referenced the movie French Kiss in my blog, too! Meg Ryan is ridiculously cute in that movie and her hair…I want that cut so bad!! But we don’t have her on set stylists, so I don’t think either of us could pull it off. ;(

    • I think my head’s too big also.

  2. Whitney

    Funny I’m a big 11:11 person too! After I had my second kiddo I saw it a lot and often. It really kinda freaked me out. I did some research on it and there are some interesting things out there on the number combo! Not sure if you’ve ever looked into it or not! Have a great weekend!!

Leave a Reply

