What’s in a name?

A rose by any other name would smell as sweet, right? It would still be beautiful even if it was called a blumbernuffin.
20130825-224340.jpg

Remember my post the other day when I talked about weird things happening? I’ll give you a minute.

Last week Sunshine moved to college. It was awful in that it was crowded, hot, and she took too much stuff. Also in the fact that I had to leave her. She’s already sent me a pic of the weird washing machines so I could walk her through it and told me she cried herself to sleep the first two nights. But then something awesome happened and she started having fun and meeting people and going to events and missing me less.

So the Sunday before she left, we had a last-minute going away barbecue and had a fruit tray. Well, in the middle of the tray on the label, the name Vincent was written in black sharpie. I didn’t think anything of it but then someone asked who Vincent was and why it was written on our fruit tray and I had no idea. It was the only fruit tray with that written. Then we started making jokes about how Vincent was missing his fruit tray and a whole story was born.

So Tuesday, we dropped off Sunshine’s things and had to go take her refrigerator back to Best Buy and right around the corner from her dorm was Vincent Drive. That’s weird, right?

And again, I don’t think I’m Truman but do you believe in signs? Are there things out in the universe besides God’s ultimate plan that put you where you need to be. And how long should you date someone before you let the crazy show? Don’t worry I’m not dating anyone, but really, how long?

I use hypothetically and theoretically interchangeably. It’s probably wrong but I don’t care. I’m going to ask this for a friend — So hypothetically let’s say there’s a girl named Stephanie and her first crush was on a guy named Bobby. But he went on to marry Steffanie, with two Fs.

Then theoretically, later in life she met a Bob who she got along with well but couldn’t date because he was married. And not the kind of “married” my husband was, this guy Bob was the I-don’t-cheat-on-my-wife kind of married. Then later in life same Stephanie meets a Robert who she has a lot in common with and really likes. Was it leading up to this or is it all just coincidence?

Sign, sign, everywhere a sign. Blockin’ out the scenery, breakin’ my mind. Do this, don’t do that, can’t you read the signs, Stephanie????

I promise you she’s a smart girl who may have just said this regarding her latest combo of Bobby/Bob/Robert, “I like him so much and he likes me not at all.” Maybe there’s a Roberto in her future. How exciting!!

Leave a Reply

