My First Throwback Thursday Blog

Isn’t it always the way when you have siblings, you want to be the favorite? Wait, is that just in my family?

I twisted that a bit when my kids were little in that I’ve always told each of them that I love them the most. I’d say, Out of everyone who loves you, it’s me, I’m the one who loves you the most. They’re all three my favorite people in the world. And while my relationships are different with each one, out of everyone in their lives who loves them, I love them the most.

This is one of our conversations:

20130801-113519.jpg

I grew up with my grandpa, my dad’s dad. When my dad left, my grandpa stayed. He came to all family functions on my mom’s side of the family. He took us to orthodontist appointments, school activities, made us individual breakfasts, and really loved us. He read us stories, introduced us to the Von Erich brothers wrestling on TV, and watched MASH every single night after the news.

Then after MASH, he had a night time ritual of turning about 20 calendars to the next day and winding probably four clocks so they’d keep on keeping time. He had a thing with calendars.

20130801-114011.jpg
When we spent the night he would let us help him and my favorite was a calendar you pushed and it played, Oh What a Beautiful Morning. I loved that calendar. It was a ritual and something he really enjoyed. He lived a quiet life and I didn’t appreciate him as much as I should have.

We were his whole world. He died when I was almost 14, quietly, in his bed. According to Kenny Rogers, The best that you can hope for is to die in your sleep. Except for the people you leave behind.

20130801-152150.jpg

Leave a Reply

