Where the wind comes sweeping down the plain.

In the midst of my current road trip, I’ve been thinking a lot about my last blog. I wondered if I should apologize for all the profanity. And I decided if I was sorry, I would apologize. That’s as close as you’re going to get.

I’m a lot to deal with. I say what’s on my mind, I know what I like, and I’m a hugger. That’s a lot for some people. I’m also the queen of the innuendo. Years ago, I had someone tell me it was too hard to be my friend and he never spoke to me again. Yeah, I guess I get that. But like Popeye, I yam what I yam. Maybe I’m like a fine wine and not that I get better with age although I do, but that I’m not everyone’s taste. I would tell you all the things I am, but I’m already bored with myself.

Did someone say, Road Trip??

20130730-220020.jpgSo as I’m sure you remembered, I was able to get rid of one of my children for my Summer of No Love and there was always an understanding I was going to have to get her back so Sunshine, Moonshine, and I decided a road trip to Dallas was in order so we could pick up Tenderheart.

20130730-214720.jpg

Tenderheart, however, doesn’t really want to go home. She’s in her favorite place in the whole world:

20130730-214936.jpg

And if you live in Texas you should have a pool. Although now that I’ve been here for two days, I think if you live anywhere, you should have a pool. My sister has a pool, a hot tub, a bar, and a Cadillac. Sometimes I just sit outside pondering my poor life choices.

20130730-215128.jpg

But then I get to take those three lovely daughters home and I know I made all good choices because I am where I am, and I have them. And then I get sappy and annoyed with myself.

And really quick and then I’m done about my last post. Someone said to me before knowing the whole story, Don’t get your heart broken. To which I said, I should get my heart broken. Do you know how long it’s been since I’ve used my heart for anything except pumping blood? I’m not living, I’m protecting, and it’s not good. I long for a good heart break because then I’ve at least tried and put myself out there. And never fear, there’s no heart break on the horizon, but at least it’s still beating.

And tomorrow I’m on to Oklahoma and the next leg on our journey taking us closer to home. Boomer Sooner!!

Crap, now I have to tell another story. Did you know the Boomer Sooner song is, I’m sooner born and sooner bred and when I die, I’ll be sooner dead…..? Yeah, I didn’t. But my dad used to sing it all the time and sometimes I think, Yup, he sure is sooner dead.

1 Comment

  1. dragonmama

    I’m glad you’ve gotten to temporarily experience life witha pool. I am currently doing the same on my road trip…thanks to my little brother booking Connor & me a room (well, series of rooms) at Holiday Inn Express. He’s also watching the dog for us!

    I’m sorry to miss you while you’re in OK, assume you’ll already be gone when we get back the 10th?? Would have been nice to visit & catch up 🙂

Leave a Reply

