Family Matters

I’ve been thinking a lot about my history, my ancestry.  My kids and their kids are going to know way too much about their ancestors starting with my mom (thanks, internet and Facebook), while I know very little about my ancestors although my family has a museum in their home town in Oklahoma. 

I  tried to ask my grandma on more than one occasion about her parents but she never wanted to talk about them.  Her mother passed away when she was young and she was basically raised by older brothers.  I was Facebook stalking, because that’s what I do, and I found a blog my cousin writes.  I’m linking to the post she wrote about my great-grandparents and how they met.  It was a different time.  Day Family History 

My grandpa on my dad’s side died when I was 14, but his parents and older brother (a real live albino) had died in a car versus train accident, and my grandma on that side died when I was really young, I didn’t know anything about her parents.  The point about my ancestry is my dad always said we are Dutch, but did we come over on the Mayflower or through Ellis Island, anything cool like that?  Some people know stuff like that about their family history.  I want to know stuff too.

A couple of years ago, Sunshine had to do a paper about her ancestry and I told her I could find out some good stuff about mine, but she wanted to know more about the monkey’s side.  His tree is more of a bush.

Anyway, when the monkey and I were first dating I said something about him being Mexican and his dad yelled at me that they’re Hispanic from Spain, not Mexican.  Okay, sorry, at the time I didn’t know there was a difference.  They’ve been telling the girls they’re Hispanic, so Sunshine called her Gma G and asked her for some ancestry stuff to trace it back to Spain.  Shockingly, she can only trace her family back to New Mexico.  How did they get Spain out of that? Sunshine wasn’t surprised, which makes me sad, but she was disappointed because she’d told all her friends her ancestors were from Spain.

This all comes back to me wanting to know stuff.  I want to know about people, about where I came from, about how my family lived.  What do you know about your history and how far does it go back?

1 Comment

  1. Gma

    Shouldn’t have linked, she actually ran away with him and his brother!!!

Leave a Reply

