One of These Things…

20121104-173748.jpg

This picture of Sunshine and Moonshine going to homecoming showcases their differences better than any story I could tell. You would think being raised in the same house they would have some similarities, but Moonshine professes to everyone she meets that she’s the anti-Sunshine.

And as a second born daughter, I completely get it. I understand her wanting to make her own mark and being her own person, but it’s so purposeful sometimes that it can be hurtful. Sometimes things are said, as I’m sure in all families, that are just mean.

I confess I’ve said more than once that they’ll grow up and never speak again, but then sometimes they’re hanging out on the couch getting along and I think I might have done something right.

However, currently as I write this, Sunshine and her friends are upstairs watching six hours of the BBC version of Pride and Prejudice, while Moonshine is downstairs playing Rock Band with her boyfriend.

I’m sure there might be some similarities in the future, but in the immortal words of Rodney King, Can’t we all just get along?

1 Comment

  1. Heidi

    I know what you mean about kids never speaking after they move out. I have to say, though, that my boys get along soooo much better now that they don’t live together. I think the 4 year gap between my two was too much; however, it’s not like i can insert another kid in there at this point! (Thank God)

    I do keep hearing that they will be best friends once they have their own kids, or live seperately, or any of 23 other things that worked for other families. My only advice is to just hang in there, and try to savor the brief minutes that they actually DO get along.

Leave a Reply

