Happy Birthday, Tenderheart!

I’m going to tell you why I love Tenderheart.  I’ve talked a lot about how snotty she is, but she’s really a deep thinker.  I worry about how much she keeps in her head because I need to tell her that useless knowledge isn’t going to get her anywhere in life.  Don’t ask me how I know.

Tonight, Tenderheart was walking around the kitchen and asking about Sunshine’s friend Joy.  Tenderheart loves Joy and always wants her to come over and hang out.  She has deemed Joy her second favorite of Sunshine’s friends.

Let me back up.  For my new reader, Sunshine had her first boyfriend this year, Wilson, and he never called her on the phone and didn’t want to actually go out with her.  My theory is he just wanted to hang out with someone during the play and he kind of has a reputation for doing that.  Anyway, after standing her up over spring break and then being a jerk to her at the prom, we decided he’s not a nice guy. 

So, tonight, kitchen, Tenderheart, go:

Tenderheart:  Do you think we’ll see Joy again before she goes to college?

Me:  I don’t know, you’ll have to ask Sunshine.

Tenderheart:  I really hope we get to see her again.

Me:  I know, I like her a lot too.

Tenderheart:  I really want to see Wilson again too.

Me:  Oh, really?

Tenderheart:  Yeah, I want to kick him in the nuts.

Meon the floor….

I don’t even know what to say.  She really comes up with some stuff that takes you completely off guard.

The other night at dinner:

So today during the fun run, John asked Jeff what he’d do if he teabagged his sister.
I really have to go to the bathroom but I don’t want to have diarrhea.  You know, a public bathroom.
I framed someone for stealing today.  I think she hates me now.
Laura got trampled coming out of the gym and burst into tears.  She really is sensitive.

I could go on and on, but just know that she totally keeps us in stitches.  And that’s how I’m going to get through the next 6 years, with laughter.

Happy 12th Birthday, Tenderheart!!

Leave a Reply

