I’m Back Just in Time for Photo Friday!

Wow, where ya been?  I know it’s Monkey Bashing Thursday, but I just don’t have the energy anymore.  I mean, I do have (at least) one more story, but it will have to wait until next week.

It’s been a very tumultuous weekend and week at the Shine’s home and it’s not showing signs of letting up.  Sunshine is playing tennis in a regional tournament today and has an IB test and she told me she doesn’t want me to go watch her play, or I’m sure her test either.  Fine.  It all started last Friday when there was a huge blow-up between Sun and Moon Shine and I suspended their cell phones.

I’ve been threatening forever, but to be honest, you just get used to being able to get ahold of them at any minute and there’s safety in that.  So I never have suspended their phones, but I was so mad after Friday night that I went on to see how to do it and it was so easy, I just clicked the button.

That click of a button made this weekend as awesome as you can imagine.  Moonshine, surprisingly, was not the one I had trouble with.  She got up Saturday morning to see what she could do to help, what did I need, and of course, how does she get her phone back on.  Sunshine, however, was probably exactly as you can imagine with her entitled self.  She couldn’t believe I turned their phones off and she didn’t think she had any part in the Shine’s blow-up and was just snotty.

Then I made them do yard work.  If you can remember how much I hate yard work, you can understand how much they hate it.  And again, Moon, perfectly willing to help; Sun, it was like pulling teeth.  If you’re wondering, Tenderheart was at her friend Minnie’s house so completely out of the crossfire.  I asked Sunshine if that was the attitude she thought would best get her phone back, but she didn’t care, she was just mad.

My friend Heather (holla!) said once that she thinks the strife you develop between your teens is so it’s easier for them to leave home.  If everything stays peachy keen (yeah, I said that), then they’d never want to leave.  And I think what’s going on with the Shines is that it’s the end of the school year.  And Sun is under a remarkable amount of pressure, which she doesn’t deal with well.  I would say, “I understand,” but she doesn’t think I know what high school’s like.  But then ask for help.  When I offer to help, she just shuts down and then I rescind my offer of help.  It’s as dramatic as it sounds.

We just desperately need summer to get here.  Moonshine and Tenderheart are going to Oklahoma and Sunshine’s either going to get a job or go to Dallas to get a job.  Either way, she’s getting a job.

So, I’m sorry for my three-day absence, which only one person asked about, but to be honest, I’m just trying to hold it all together while feeling like I’m completely falling apart.  And no one wants to hear about that.

Leave a Reply

