You Might as Well Jump

In honor of The Hunger Games coming out last weekend and me taking Moonshine and Tenderheart out of school early to go see it on opening day, I’m going to do a review of 21 Jump Street.

Let’s all just assume The Hunger Games was as amazing as everyone says, because it was.  I really have nothing to add.  21 Jump Street, on the other hand, hilarious, yet inappropriate.  I think we could tell immediately by the crowd and the restricted trailers they were showing that we were in trouble.  Now, I’m not above an inappropriate movie.  I saw Bridesmaids, but I usually don’t see them with my cousin Cindi, her mother, Sunshine, and her friend Mariska.  Eeeesh.  This goes back to my previous post asking if I’m Mother of the Year or Worst Mother in the World.  I was the latter on Saturday night when I saw 21 Jump Street.  HOWEVER, I was not the teen mom there with her 9-year-old son.  So Worst Mother in the World, maybe not, but still pretty bad.

I’ll start by saying I don’t remember watching the original series.  I remember Johnny Depp in Nightmare on Elm Street, but didn’t watch 21 Jump Street.  Wasn’t it one of the first shows on Fox?  Anyway, for some reason it wasn’t on my radar.  What is on my radar now is Channing Tatum.  Oh my goodness, he’s on my radar, he’s in my dreams, he’s way too young for me, he’s so hot.  I just looked up the TV show on IMDB and yes, it was the first season for Fox and I was 16 and there was no DVR.  Enough said.  There’s also a lot of trivia on there about how Johnny Depp only signed up because he thought it wouldn’t go more than one season and was mad when he was still stuck on it in the third season.  I hope that’s not true because some people just like to work and I like to think he’s a better guy than that.  Who knows?  *rhetorical*

So back to the movie.  I loved it, but it had everything I love.  Comedy, Channing Tatum, a cameo by Johnny Depp that you didn’t see coming.  I could have done with about 300 less F words and drug references; and let me just say, it does not make me feel any better to hear Sunshine and Mariska say, We hear worse than that at our school.  Yeah, that’s not helping me.  Let’s see, home school high school, home school college, and then work from home so they’d never have to leave the house again.  I think we have a plan.

And I’m not in the habit of sheltering my kids much.  We watch questionable things at home and use them as teaching moments because they are going to come across that stuff in life if you let them leave the house, which I’m not going to anymore.  There’s a lot of “We don’t do that” and “We don’t say that” and “Don’t be that loser”, and you can only hope you teach them right so they can be a beacon when they leave the house and do the right things.  Who knows?  *Again, rhetorical*

All in all, I would recommend it to certain friends and I would see it again just to get the parts I was laughing through.  And sticking with my “Your Baby’s Ugly” scale and by baby, I mean movie; and by ugly, I mean terrible, Your baby was incredibly entertaining.  And I love an entertaining baby, I just probably wouldn’t see it with my 16-year-old daughter again.

2 Comments

  1. Hill and Tatum are great together here and add a lot to this film’s comedy but it’s just the way it is all written that makes it even richer. It’s making fun of those high school comedy conventions but at the same time, is inventing it’s own as it goes on. Great review Christy.

    • I really thought it was great. Thanks for stopping by. I enjoy your reviews!

Leave a Reply

