The Lorax Movie Review

My next movie review, right here, right now, The Lorax.  Yup, after winning two weekends at the box office, I decided to see what all the hype was about.  Sunshine invited me to go see it Friday night with one of her friends and then promptly uninvited me.  This works in quite nicely with tomorrow’s blog in which I talk about how I need a life of my own.  I think she just originally invited me so I’d pay, but guess what, I got two other kids that can’t go anywhere without me, especially Moonshine who’s grounded again, but that story will have to wait for Monkey Bashing Thursday.  It’s a doozy.

I will first admit to you that I had no idea what The Lorax was about.  I’d never even heard of it.  Dr. Seuss is a gray area for me as I know The Cat in the Hat and Green Eggs and Ham, but that’s about it.  I know he’s written a lot of other things and my friend Heather (holla!) really likes his stuff, but my knowledge is very limited.  What I do know is that The Lorax was actually a book written in 1971, also the year I was born.  So at least two good things have come out of 1971.  Me and The Lorax.

Tenderheart, Moonshine, and Maddy

First few minutes of the movie, very entertaining AND political.  But this coming from someone who thought Avatar was a little too political for my liking.  In The Lorax it started with a musical number about how the humans have to buy air and everything is plastic.  You know what?  I miss the Disney movies with a villain that’s just evil and good always wins.  Why do I have to go out of there with a message about how bad humans are?  Almost to the end, Moonshine said, I’m really depressed.  And it was pretty depressing. 

Now there were completely laugh out loud moments and Tenderheart almost couldn’t control herself, but there was also a picture of the villain who was cutting down all the trees (spoiler alert) on a poster that said “Too Big To Fail”.  Ha!  Maybe the political stuff is just for the adults ala Happy Feet when humans were the bad guys again with all the pollution.  I know, I watch the news, I don’t need to pay $9 a piece for 3D to tell me I’m an awful human destroying the planet.

And just a word about 3D.  Really?  Can we not just make a more clear movie not in 3D?  I remember when we would get to see a 3D movie and it was all just a bunch of stuff “flying” at you (Jaws 3 in 3D, anyone?), now it just makes it really clear AND there’s the occasional stuff flying at you.  I’m not on board with this whole 3D thing I guess. 

And really, Titanic in 3D?  Do I need to see the iceberg coming straight at me?  They didn’t.  Sorry, too soon?  And I’d only pay that much money to see it again if Rose would get her ass off the door and make some room for Jack.  OR if the boat didn’t sink this time.  Spoiler alert, the boat sinks.  Now in 3D!  It just seems like an obvious ploy to get more money.  Do you really not have enough, James Cameron?  Can you re-release Avatar in like 5D with a free sample of unobtanium for all.  Don’t even get me started on that crap.

Okay, I’ve gotten off on a tangent.  Back to The Lorax.  Now, I’m sticking with my scale of Your Baby’s Ugly.  And by Baby, I mean movie; and by Ugly, I mean terrible.   I liked it.  There were a couple of cringeworthy moments, but all in all your baby wasn’t too political and was completely entertaining.  I would not see it in the theater again, but might buy it if it came out around a holiday or someone’s birthday.  And by someone, I mean Tenderheart because she’s still laughing about parts of the movie.  If only I had a 3D TV to watch it on.  UGH, don’t get me started!!

I wrote this review and realized it was a lot of ranting so I wanted to share this video of Zac Efron and Taylor Swift promoting The Lorax on Ellen.  They are the cutest non-couple I’ve seen.  I love them both!  They were the best part of The Lorax.

1 Comment

  1. While the movie is funnier than the book, the drawback of this modernized version is that it loses the timeless quality of the story on the page. Still, I had a good time and it will definitely resonate well with plenty of adults and just about every kid imaginable. Great review.

Leave a Reply

