My Retro Weekend Blog for the first weekend of March

Can you believe I almost forgot my retro weekend blog post?  Actually, I didn’t but I was too lazy to walk all the way downstairs yesterday to find one.  It’s really far, ya’ll. 

Saturday of this weekend I tried to do as little as possible, but did manage to get our DVR down to 43%.  That never happens.  It was hard work, but someone’s got to do it.  Does anyone have any favorite shows of the season?  I feel ridiculous asking questions to “you” and no one answering, but I’m sending it out there anyway. 

We watched three episodes in a row of The River and it’s getting pretty freaky.  I don’t think I have a new favorite show yet, but Alcatraz is coming around.  Revenge is awesome and moving along the backstory at a really nice rate, but Once Upon a Time is losing me by not progressing.  And I really wanted to like that show, but can the good guy win at least one week?  I wish I could at least work on a TV show and see how it works because the whole process is fascinating to me.

Anyway, back to real life.  I have a pretty exciting week coming up, but you’ll just have to be patient and see for yourself.

This blog post was from November 21, 2008.  Good grief that sounds like a long time ago.  Notice that I refer to a job, it was that long ago.  I’m also no longer addicted to FitDay.com, but certainly should be.

Facts I know About Me

I overshare.  I’m an oversharer.  I can’t help it, I’m an open book and don’t understand why everyone isn’t.  I also tell my stories more than once, a trait that I’ve unfortunately passed on to Moonshine.   Not only that, but I talk too much in general, another trait passed on to all three of them.  No one can get a word in at my house.  Moonshine was always my quiet one, quietly suffering with middle child syndrome, but get her alone and you can’t get her to stop talking.

I know a little bit about a lot of things, just enough to make me dangerous in a trivia(l) contest or just spouting off obscure references.  This was passed on to me from my dad, and really serves no purpose.  Movie references are my favorite.

I’m sometimes too much.  I get excited, not a crime.  Oh and I’m loud which only served me well in 6th grade when I was in the school play, not so much anywhere else.

I’m a recycling nazi.  It’s embarrassing how much plastic we use that used to just fill up a landfill.  When I see our 4 to 5 bins of recycling every week it’s embarrassing how much I used to throw away.  I’ve also been known to take bottles out of trash cans at people’s desk and ask them if I can recycle them.  Seriously?  Who doesn’t recycle?  The bin is in the breakroom people, get off your butt and walk it over.

I remember everything.  Not always a good thing when you’re trying to deal with things like forgiveness, but good when my sister’s trying to remember the names of the three puppies our dog had when we were little.

I miss my dad.  Even though I sat in his memorial service listening to the eulogies and thinking, “That guy sounds great, I wonder who they’re talking about”, and feeling like I didn’t really know him at all, I still miss him so much.

I watch too much TV.  A study came out a few weeks ago that said too much TV-watching was a sign of depression.  No kidding.  I could have told them that a long time ago.  I get too involved, I need a life.

I’m now addicted to FitDay.com.  Thanks, cuz!

I can’t hold a grudge or stay mad for long.  I wish I could but it’s too much energy wasted.  I’m also incredibly non-confrontational, oh, and snarky.  Not always good things.  I’m almost never serious, and sometimes I get bored hearing myself say anything so I figure everyone else is bored with me too.

I talk to my mom almost every day.  If we go more than two days then something’s wrong.  I can’t stand to be guilted, I lived with that for too much of my life and I refuse to guilt my children into doing anything they don’t want to do.

I’m three years in to living my life with Jesus.  We’re still in the honeymoon phase, and I’ll admit that I don’t always understand what I’m supposed to do.  I sometimes forget to pray.  My dad gave me his bible in a year last year and I only made it to April, but I’m going to try again in 2009.  I have issues with control even though I’m trying to come to grips with the fact that I’m not really in control of anything.  It’s hard to give that up, but I know it’s all an illusion.

2 Comments

  1. MB

    The Finder. Justified. Both very well written and acted.

    • I really liked The Finder, but then our Thursday got too busy to record. I heard it’s moving to Friday when Touch comes on so maybe we can watch then. Love Timothy Olyphant from Justified!

Leave a Reply

