Your Baby’s Not Ugly At All

I did not go see The Woman in Black, the new Daniel Radcliffe movie last weekend because of the worst snowstorm in the history of 2012.  The weatherman is such an alarmist.  Yes, we got 16 inches of snow, but we didn’t go into a new ice age or run out of milk.  Where I live boasts more sunny days than Florida so I feel a little like “the sky is falling” every time snow is in our vicinity.  And they’re only right about 50% of the time.  I wish I had a job with those odds, or just a job.  Anyway, you’ll have to get that review next week, unless Daniel Radcliffe’s baby’s ugly and then I won’t say anything.  And by “baby”, I mean movie; and by “ugly”, I mean terrible 

I did, however, start reading The Hunger Games.  We bought the book a few months ago for Moonshine to start reading and then we were all going to read it, but she lost it at school.  I would say SSSSSSShhhhhocker, but I won’t because that would be rude.  So before I could buy another one, my sister started reading them on her Nook, which I can access on my iPad.  (Shhhhh!)  Just kidding, she knows and she read all three of them in a week.  I can’t seem to find the time to get through the first one, but not for lack of trying.  It’s so good.  And I know I’m late to the party, just as I was to Twilight, but I wanted to read it for sure before the movie comes out next month.  With Twilight I watched the movie first and then devoured all four books in the next week.  I’m not proud.

I also have to say I was not a Harry Potter book fan.  I really liked the movies, but there was something about the books I just couldn’t get into.  The made up world, made up words, wizardry?  I just don’t know what it was, but I am not having that problem with The Hunger Games.  It’s post-apocalyptic, which fascinates me and it’s the story of seemingly insurmountable odds for survival.  I would have been dead in the first chapter before they even got to the games.  I’m sure I’m not much of a survivalist.  And I worry about stuff.  I honestly can’t let myself think about it too much because The Road could have put me in bed for months with the covers over my head.  After reading that book, the girls and I decided if the world ended tomorrow and God forbid, we survived, we wouldn’t eat people or our dogs.  Yeah, our dinner table talk is really something to be heard.

Back to The Hunger Games.  I give it two enthusiastic feet up and I’m only halfway through.  On a scale from one to your baby’s ugly, not ugly at all.  I really need to work on my rating scale.

1 Comment

  1. carikelley

    Haha, yes, you need to work on your rating scale…but this one’s funny, so it’s ok. I would love to listen to your dinner table talk—sounds fascinating!!

    I loved the Hunger Games too! I read all 3 and then just read the first one again–in preparation for the movie. I believe I’m ready. 🙂

Leave a Reply

