Was It Good For You?

First, regarding my previous blog, my sister is an awesome and amazing person.  Always has been, always will be.  That’s all.

Second, on my last blog I stated that I’m not friends with my kids’ friends because I think there should be some boundaries.  I had no idea that would ruffle so many feathers.  What I was trying to say is that I’M not friends with my kids’ friends because I need to have some boundaries.  I don’t care what you do, in the least confrontational way possible, but it doesn’t work for us.  And I’ve had friends of both Sunshine and Moonshine ask to be my friend and I have to tell them, It’s not you, it’s me.  I talk a lot about my kids on this blog and if they’re not allowed to read it, I certainly wouldn’t want their friends to read it and tell them how complain-y I am.  Not that they could find anything on my timeline, but that’s for a whole other blog.  Let me just say, Timeline makes it harder to stalk people I don’t really want to be friends with.  And that’s all I’m going to say about that.

Now to today’s blog.  I have trouble telling what’s good or not when it comes to media stuff, movies, books, music.  I know if I like it or not, but I don’t always know what’s good.  For instance, I’m not a huge fan of Florence and the Machine, but there are a lot of people telling me how good they are.  Same with Mumford & Sons.  I think everyone is so inundated with media that it gets convoluted for someone like me that doesn’t really have a strong opinion on anything.  I can’t think of one thing I will fight with a stranger over, but there are people who will stand on the street corner yelling at you until they’re blue in the face to try and change your opinion.  I’m passive.  In a fight when I don’t agree, I usually just say, okay; and then move on.  On some topics it’s that I don’t know enough about the topic, but that doesn’t stop some people.  Politics for example really gets people going.  But does anyone really know enough about what’s going on in our government (the real truth) or with our candidates to convey your point on a topic?  They think they do, which is why I don’t get into political conversations.  Oh, another one I say, Oh, I don’t know… Man, I love saying, Oh, I don’t know… 

I don’t watch the political debates, but I love reading the next day what they said versus the truth, but even that varies depending on the news outlet you listen to.  It doesn’t take long to figure out why some people are frustrated with the political process.  And what can you do?  I mean, really, what can I do to change things?  I vote for the lesser of two evils, maybe.  I read and decifer as much of the BS as I can, but does anything really get done that doesn’t get overturned when the next guy goes into office?  It’s gotten pretty depressing.  And I feel like the country has never been more polarized than they are now.  Wow, that’s as much politics as I’ve ever talked before and now I’m done for another four years.

I like reading recaps to tell me if a television show was good or not.  Not to tell me if I liked it, but I read Television Without Pity to tell me what they thought of a particular show.  And I’ll be honest, sometimes I let other people’s opinions affect how I feel about something.  I also tend to let other people’s moods affect how I’m feeling.   I also decided that my short-lived book reviewing needs to change a bit.  I’m not a negative person so I’m probably not going to tell you your baby is ugly.  And by “baby”, I mean your book and/or movie; and by “ugly”, I mean terrible.  Then I decided instead of reviewing random things, I should probably just tell you about things that I like. 

I’m supposed to take Moonshine and her friend (let’s call her Austin) to see The Woman in Black, my first non-Harry Potter, Daniel Radcliffe movie this Friday.  I’m going in with an open mind, but if there’s no review about how good it was on Monday, then you’ll just know, his baby’s ugly.

Leave a Reply

