New Directions in 2012

It was brought to my attention that my 2011 Family Anti-Newsletter might have been depressing.  To which I thought, if you thought it was depressing to read, try living it, honey.  Although I didn’t think any of that because it’s really unlike me, I would never call anyone honey. 

I mean, did I not put up enough cute pet pictures?  Did you not see Molly?

MOLLY

Cutest, sweetest, most awesome puppy EVER!!

And though my 2011 sounded like a bad country song where I lost my dog and my job (both pronounced with long O’s), I realize my problems are first world problems.  I’m thankful every day that I’m not digging a well for clean water or living in Columbia.  EVERY.DAY.    So in the future I will try to be more uplifting.  Unfortunately, the future’s not today. 

I went shopping for an electric blanket.  A cheap one, maybe one on clearance would have been nice.  I sleep in the basement, which is always freezing and even with flannel sheets, I need an electric blanket.  The blanket I currently have is a few years old and I keep having to turn it up higher but it doesn’t heat up very fast, and I’m afraid it’s going to short out and fry me.  Again, all first world problems.  

The problem with electric blanket shopping for a queen bed, which I have, is there are two controllers.  Apparently single people aren’t allowed to have queen beds because I feel like that second controller is just mocking me as it sits unused.  Yes, I’m sure I could turn on both sides and get it all toasty for my one person, but I don’t need all that, I only sleep on the right side of the bed.  In the past I bought a Full size, which fit just fine and there was no extra controller telling me I’m going to die alone, probably under the faulty electric blanket I have right now.

TRANSITION

Sunshine has found a new YouTube channel that I’m enjoying very much.  It’s not for the conservative viewer/reader, but I find this girl very funny.  It started a few weeks ago when Sunshine started speaking strangely and quoting things I hadn’t heard before.  Now, if you know me, which who does, then you know my family quotes a lot of stuff.  From Forest Gump to Toddlers and Tiaras, we watch and retain way too much useless information in our heads.  So for Sunshine to be coming up with this new stuff I didn’t recognize, I just had to know.  Anyway, huge buildup short, it’s Daily Grace. 

DING!

I am fascinated by people.  FASCINATED.  Especially creative people who figure out a way to make a living either vlogging or blogging or anything where they don’t really have to leave their house.  So from what I can tell, Daily Grace has been around in one form or another for a few years and I asked Sunshine, Does she do a vlog every day?  To which Sunshine said, Yeah, that’s why she calls it Daily Grace.  Awwwwww, that Sunshine did not get spanked enough as a child.

So to call me fascinated by the whole thing is a bit of an understatement, govenah as I stayed up three hours one night just watching her videos.  She’s very funny and she has a theme every day.  I haven’t watched enough in a row to know what day is what, but like Thursday is How-To and Wednesday is Reviewing something.  One of her Thursday How-To’s is the reason Sunshine made me get brownie mix and funfetti cake mix for a recipe, which I’m sure will put us all in a diabetic coma.

I’m always trying to figure out a way to make my blog into just one something that I never thought about doing something different every day (or two or three days), which brings me to my big announcement.  I felt silly writing that because there’s really no big announcement, but I decided I’m going to start reviewing things.  I have a face for blogging so don’t expect any vlogs from me anytime soon, but I’m going to start with books and movies. 

For the books, I got an iPad for my 40th birthday last year and got the Overdrive app where I’m able to get library books.  Mostly I’ve been reading self-help, which I can not get through to save my life, so I gave up and read a guilty pleasure book, which I loved and just finished tonight.  I think I’m going to start with that one just to get it out of my head because it’s haunting my dreams.  Then I have a couple more that my awesome cousin sent me.  Are you excited?  No?  Well, I am.

 
4 Comments

  1. can’t stop laughing about the extra controller telling you you are going to die alone!
    I think reviewing stuff is a great idea, you’ve certainly read TWOP enough to get the hang of it.

    • I don’t know if I can be as snarky as TWOP, but I’m going to try!

  2. carikelley

    Honestly, I was afraid this would be a Glee-themed post based on the name. Then I was excited because I thought you might be moving away from the dreariness that was 2011–(at least in the retelling it appeared dreary) no mention at all was made of those glorious days and nights we spent together in June. 😮

    Haha! I laughed at that to Cindi! Although I have a feeling Christy is only slightly chuckling because, I fear, she believes that heinous lie.

    I’m excited about the new blog direction…mostly because I got a mention–I’m assuming I’m the “awesome cousin” to which you were referring!? I can’t wait for you to read Salvaged and Rise and hear what you think!

    • I’m so glad you got my Glee reference and yes, the awesome cousin comment was totally for you. Although I have another awesome cousin sans the gifts.

Leave a Reply

