Can’t We All Just Get Along? Please.

My children are fighting.  Not physical fighting, this isn’t WWE, but verbal fighting.  I don’t know how to get them to stop.  Sometimes I feel like I would rather they never spoke again, than to talk to each other like they do.  People with only one child don’t have to worry about this. 

Mostly the fighting involves Sunshine and Moonshine, but sometimes it trickles down to Tenderheart and she might be the snottiest of them all by the time all is said and done. 

Some days I feel like I’m just holding on until everyone goes to college and then they’ll never speak again.  And then I wonder if that would be so bad.  Maybe having siblings is overrated. 

Sunshine thinks she should have been an only child.  Moonshine thinks she always gets picked on.  Tenderheart can’t wait until those two go off to college and it’s just the two of us.  They all have their own dynamic and I, being just one person, have a really hard time catering to all of their personalities and needs.  Most days I feel like I fall short. 

My sister and I have come around and have a better relationship now than we did as kids, but I always hoped there was a way to get around all the bad stuff and arguments and live in some sort of fantasy land where everyone loves each other and supports each other and not a harsh word is spoken.  Really, is that too much to ask??  Apparently.

Here Sunshine pretends to snap Tenderheart's neck as Moonshine wonders how to escape.

So here’s the funny part.  For two years after I met my friend Heather, she would think I was crazy when I would talk about how my children fight and the way Sunshine talks to the other two.  Because when we go in public, we are “happy family” where if you didn’t know us, you’d think my kids were the most well-behaved, loving, kind people.  And they really are, but sometimes the way they talk to each other makes me cringe.  Does anyone else have sibling issues?

1 Comment

  1. Cari Kelley

    What’s interesting is they understand to put on the public show too…no fighting in public. Save the ugliness for the private home time. Hmmmm…

    And since I have my psychologist hat on ( and since it’s almost 2am and I’m still coughing)
    I’ll offer this:

    ….oh I had something good but I forgot it. It had something to do with respect and feelings. And sisters for life. If I think of it, I’ll come back. I’m sure it was brilliant and life changing.

Leave a Reply

