Just a Girl Who Can’t Say No

Let me just say that I got more votes on whether I should Match or not than the Great Marijuana Debate.   Maybe it was a bad title, but I thought it was funny. Anyway, thanks to my three faithful readers for voting and leaving comments.  Side note – My sister leaves a comment like a nun because she signs in as Sister Sherri.  I’m not complaining though, a comment’s a comment.  Ultimately, Mike convinced me that I’m not Shelby’s friend’s parent, and not for nothing, but he didn’t like me calling her Cranky Pants.  I guess he’d have to meet her to understand.  What it actually came down to is I don’t want to start a war.  I was the victim of bullies every day of my senior year because girls are mean, and I don’t want her life to be miserable because Mary Jane got narc’d on.  Mary Jane is very sorry and has apologized over and over to Shelby, and Shelby’s not mad at her anymore, but she said she doesn’t have time for someone who lies to her.  I’m proud of her for standing up for herself.  If only I could get Rises with the Sun to do that too, I’d have a house full of empowered women.

Ado Annie in Oklahoma!

Except for me.  I’ve said before that I say no to everything and don’t like to do anything, but the truth is, I can’t say no to anything.  I did a whole blog HERE about how no good deed goes unpunished, and it’s true.  I have a very small embroidery business in addition to working full time-ish, which is 33.5 hours a week, and going to school.  I’m busy, but for some reason I have a problem saying no when someone asks me to do something.  I love doing embroidery and the extra money I do make is really nice.  I mainly do it for the dance studio and am extremely blessed to be able to do that for dance credit to help with tuition.  However, the one I can’t say no to is the monkey (aka my ex-husband for my new reader).  I actually did his taxes for two years after he moved out.  I finally told him I couldn’t help him anymore, but that was just last year.  I don’t know what it is.  It’s not like I should be worried that he’ll be mad at me, he left me for Pete’s sake.  But he brings me shirts to embroider and I do it because I can’t say no, and he doesn’t even pay me.  What is wrong with me?  That’s rhetorical.

Final Thoughts from Christy:  This is a short blog because I just wanted to give an update on Mary Jane and the great marijuana debate, which really wasn’t all that great.  Oh, and one comment I got on Facebook from my friend Rhymes with Bamber told me to pull the stick out and relax.  I assure you there is no stick, and I spent the entire first blog talking about how I wasn’t uptight on this subject, but I certainly don’t want my 15-year-old getting high.  Sorry, I guess I am uptight when it comes to my kids. 

The other purpose of this blog is to find out if anyone else has trouble saying no. 

Oh, great, now I can’t stop singing that song.  I’m jist a girl who cain’t say no, I’m in a turrible fix…..  Awwww, I love Oklahoma!

2 Comments

  1. Mike Booth

Trackbacks

  1. Life is So Hard in the Suburbs « Dealing with Life

Leave a Reply

