Eat Pray…..You Know the Rest

Well, two out of three ain’t bad.  Shelby’s friend called it Eat, Pray, Get Over Yourself.  That made me laugh.  I called it Eat Pray Snooze.

So I saw Eat Pray Love.  I wanted to see The Expendables or The Other Guys, but apparently I don’t have any friends that will go see “guy” movies with me.  I have to be honest when I say, I couldn’t make it through this book.  Maybe I was at a bad point in my life or maybe it was just way over my head.  You know what I hate?  Hate is a strong word, but I don’t like when people all seem to know what’s going on, but I’m on the fringe of it and feel like I have no clue.  For instance, I did not understand The Purpose Driven Life.  I’m sure I’m the only person in the whole world that had no idea what exactly Rick Warren was talking about.  I pray that I’m just the only one that will admit it, and not the only one that doesn’t get it.  Am I stunted mentally?  Maybe.

And another thing.  I did not like Avatar.  I’m probably the only person on the planet that feels that way too.  But Mr. Cameron, you can take your politics and your unobtanium and keep them.  If I want to see a story of a people who go into another land to steal their minerals, I’ll watch the news or Dances with Wolves.   I’m not even political and I didn’t feel good about that movie.  One more:  I did not particularly like Inception.  I didn’t care for the story or its ambiguous ending.  When did “visually stunning” become a gauge of how we critique our movies.  Both these movies (and Eat Pray Love for that matter) were VERY visually stunning, but I felt like the only one that was underwhelmed by all three.

Back to Eat Pray Love.  The movie was incredibly long, I wasn’t expecting that.  And I think I’ve seen it before, but it was called Under the Tuscan Sun.  Woman gets divorced, tries to find herself, and goes travelling across the world to do it.  You know where I go to try to find myself?  I’ll let you know when I do.  Also, if I sold all my belongings so I could travel, it might get me three weeks in Oklahoma, not a year in Italy, India, and Bali.  There were a couple of things the “heroines” had in common in both books – – one, no kids; two, they both found a man in the end.  And in EPL, she spent a lot of time in an ashram in India.  Am I the only person that can’t meditate?  I can’t turn my brain off.  I wish I could sit with a bunch of strangers and chant.  And I wish I  had a medicine man I could visit in Bali to tell me my future.  And I wish I could come home to Javier Bardem every night.  And I wish I had Julia Roberts’ hair.  But these are just a few things I do not have in common with the character of Eat Pray Love.  The list is long and plentiful.

Final Thoughts from Christy:  Overall, Eat Pray Love was visually stunning.  That’s the best thing I can say about it.  It wasn’t terrible and wasn’t a brain twister.  I felt a little bit like I was in a therapy session.  And it did make me wish I could spend a year “finding myself” somewhere exotic, but it’s not a unique story.  It also left me feeling a little inadequate about my life choices.   The next movie I will see will be about a strong single mom who defies all odds and finishes school only to start the better life she keeps promising.  Oh wait, that should be my story.  I guess I’d better get on it and stop watching movies and blogging.

2 Comments

  1. As usual…honest, funny, and I agree. 🙂

  2. carikelley

    I’d watch your movie about the SSM (Strong Single Mom) as long as it’s visually stimulating.

    Ditto feelings on Avatar and Inception…can I have those 4-5 hours of my life back? Didn’t and not gonna see EPL. Nobody can make me.

Leave a Reply

