Who Needs a Hug?

I have quite a few embarrassing moments.  I’ll just say it, I’m embarrassing.  But two of my moments have come in the form of accidental hugging.  Huh?  How can you accidentally hug someone?  Oh, I can.

The first time was at my youngest daughter’s third birthday party. I vaguely knew the dad that dropped the party guest off.  I had only seen him around, and I knew that he was VERY quiet.  Like I’d never said two words to him or even heard him speak.  I know (now) that he’s a really nice guy, but he’s very introverted; which makes up for his extroverted wife.  So let’s call him (rhymes with) Schmeve.  I held open the screen door and let his daughter in and Schmeve reached over and hugged me.  I was like, “oh, okay” and I hugged him back and he said, “I was just getting the door”.  Wa, wa, wah.  Yeah, he was just holding the screen door open so I could walk in the house.  Not hugging.  But how do you take that back?  Well, you don’t.

The next accidental hugging came at my kids’ school when one of the dads that I hadn’t seen in a long time walked up to say hi and then we walked over to where I pick up my kids.  At this point in time it’s on my record that I’m an accidental hugger so I’m cautious.  Plus, I had just walked two miles (uphill all the way) to my kids’ school so let’s just say I wasn’t fresh as a daisy, if you get my meaning.  Anyway, I knew the dad, and we’d never been on hugging terms before, but I could have SWORN (rhymes with) Schmoe leaned in for a hug.  And then I hugged him, but there was no hug back and I was just left hugging.  How do I get out??  It was terribly awkward and I apologized.   I’m pretty sure we’re still not on hugging terms.

And I’m a hugger, but I’m scarred for life now.  Who wants a hug?  How would I know?  I love going to church because everyone hugs everyone, but sometimes I just shake hands for fear of the awkward hugging cold shoulder of someone who doesn’t hug.  I need a hug.  My kids get back this weekend and they’re cuddlers, I can’t wait!

Give me some of your embarrassing moments so I’ll feel better.  I got more, but I’ll stick with my hugging theme.  Other than accidental hugging, I think all of my embarrassing moments involve something my kids did.  Speaking of embarrassing, kids really do say the darndest things.  Okay, just one.  We were in the grocery store and walked around this lady, and Shelby (age 3) yelled, “Mommy, we don’t call ‘FAT’ do we?”  No, no we don’t.

4 Comments

  1. Sister Sherri

    I’m sorry but I did not get the accidental hugging gene. Is that from Dad or Mom? I do return waves to people who are not actually waving at me but at another person quite often. Does that make me an “accidental waver”?

    • You are totally an accidental waver. Maybe you got the workaholic gene and I got the hugging gene. I’ll take mine over yours anyday, embarrassment and all!

  2. That’s hilarious Christy! I can sooo relate. I’m very often socially awkward.

    I can only think of one awkward hugging moment…not sure it was accidental or not. Last year at a high school football game I saw a kid Cory went to school with in 4th and 5th grade. Sweet kid. I hugged him. He was 16. Afterward, it seemed really creepy. Mom lady hugs 16 yr old boy at a football game. ew, ew, ew.

    • Coo Coo Kachoo, Mrs. Robinson. That would be awkward. Luckily, I don’t have boys that have friends because I would totally do that too!

Leave a Reply

