At Last

Quite often when I write a blog, I completely forget what I was going to tell you about.  You know who you are.  So the wedding dances.  The first dance, the father/daughter dance, the mother/son dance, they were all beautiful.  However, the funniest part was when they came into the reception hall to the theme from the A Team.  That was all Brian and it was hilarious.

Side note:  the next man I marry is going to know how to dance.  I love to dance.  And I’m pretty good, if I do say so myself.  I took ballroom lessons with a guy from work a few years ago and the instructor said we had what he can’t teach the others:  rhythm.  Yeah, I do.  You wouldn’t think I do just by looking at me, but I could be a dancing machine with the right partner.  Same guy from work and I went to a workshop where someone came in and was teaching just one dance and we rocked it.  About 30 minutes in I realized I was the only white person there, but I didn’t care, I was keeping up.  Enough about how awesome I am and back to the bride and groom’s first dance.  See how I get sidetracked?

So I said in my previous post that they had waited to get married and mostly finished their education.  They are an example to my kids of people who didn’t rush into something.  Their first dance was to At Last by Etta James.

At Last

At last, my love has come along
My lonely days are over
And life is like a song
Oh, yeah, at last
The skies above are blue
My heart was wrapped up in clovers
The night I looked at you
I found a dream that I could speak to
A dream that I can call my own
I found a thrill to rest my cheek to
A thrill that I have never known
Oh, yeah when you smile, you smile
Oh, and then the spell was cast
And here we are in heaven
For you are mine
At last

And at last, I’m finished with my wedding blogs.  I’m feeling so sappy, I need to get back to the real world for a while.  But I’m so thankful I had that escape this weekend to see that there is happiness out there.  I needed to see that again, I’m starting to feel so jaded.  The reception line included, of course, the bride and groom, her parents who have been married at least 30 years, and his parents who met 50 years ago and have been married I think 40 years.   I know there’s a bunch of stuff you don’t bring out at a wedding, but everyone looked so happy and were seriously the nicest people ever. 

Okay, okay, I know.  I’m back to the real world where bills need to be paid and jobs need to be done, but the escape was nice.

Leave a Reply

