It Really WAS a Good Friday

It’s Friday and it’s been a crazy, spectacular, exhilarating, exhausting, fantastic week.  It’s also the end of our City Pass and we’re going to the Top of the Rock.  I had no idea what Top of the Rock was and found out that it’s the top of 30 Rockefeller Center where they have the Today show, the giant Christmas tree, and the skating rink.  And also, Saturday Night Live, but not this week, unfortunately.  That would have been cool except you have to get tickets in August of the previous year, and I’m not nearly that organized.  We don’t watch late night talk shows so we didn’t bother getting tickets to any of those shows even though we saw where David Letterman’s studio was.  We also went by ABC because it was right in Time Square, but didn’t go early enough for Good Morning America, which was fine by me. 

So it’s Friday and we’re going to Top of the Rock. 

Top of the Rock

And, we were in line (what? a line? oh yeah) right across the street from Radio City Music Hall: 

Shelby thought I was taking a picture of her: 

Shelby’s on top of the world: 

Shelby and the park: 

Look at that park: 

Our “action shot” going down the escalator: 

The ice skating rink: 

And now we’re going to the World Trade Center site:

World Trade Center Rebuilding

There was a “museum” they called it that had 9/11 stories and showed the new plans for what they were going to do with the site.  It was free and interesting, but also very moving as they had a timeline of what happened that day. 

This is the church right across the street from the site: 

With a tombstone from 1752: 

Then we went to the New York Stock Exchange and it was crazy crowded even though it was closed because of Good Friday: 

We stopped for lunch at a little deli and this is where I started getting a migraine.  I don’t know what it was, but it really started coming on so I nixed going to Brooklyn, and we got a new plan to go to Grand Central Station and then back to the hotel to rest before our show. Linda gave me an Exedrin migraine and I prayed that it wouldn’t ruin the rest of our day. 

I wanted to go to Grand Central Station so when we say, “it looks like Grand Central Station in here”, we’d have a point of reference. I thought it was funny, but Shelby had no idea what I was talking about.

The building was beautiful and you’ll have to trust me that it was crazy crowded.

Another action shot:

We then hunted down a Crumbs cupcake shop and I can’t even tell you how good it was.  The cupcakes were huge and the best cupcake I’ve ever had.  I’m definitely all for this new cupcake trend that’s going on.  I got a half-baked (half chocolate and half vanilla, get it?), which was the cupcake of the month and Shelby got a black and white, which was the cupcake of the week.  But my cupcake won, it’s was SOOO good.

Seriously, YUM!

We got our cupcake and went across the street to Bryant Park, which is another little oasis in the middle of the city.  It’s off of Avenue of the Americas and there are chess boards set up and ping-pong tables.  Can I tell you how funny it was to see random people playing ping-pong in the middle of the park?  And they had like school desks set up for people to put up their laptops or just sit there and read.

Shelby's in Bryant Park

After we went back to the hotel and ate our cupcakes, I took a nap and then got ready for our last night in the city.  Linda was packing so Shelby and I were going to see Mamma Mia:
But first, dinner at Sbarro’s.  Sherri and I ate here a lot in 1997 because it was cheap, and well, I was poor.  Still good:
Back to Mamma Mia.  I have a love/hate relationship with the movie and really wanted to see Phantom, but those tickets were crazy expensive, which was surprising because it’s been open forever.  Shelby and I decided to rent the Phantom movie and go do some dancing to ABBA!
I sat next to a Chinese woman whose daughter translated the whole musical for her into Chinese.  Awwww, another New York experience! 

We also decided as we were walking back to the hotel, through Time Square, that there was nothing we could do that would make people think we were weird, because EVERYONE was weird.

We did some souvenir shopping and went home to pack.  We were leaving the next day and I’m pretty sad.  We have only ONE more day, which means, you’re lucky, because YOU only have one more day you have to read to see if we made it home safely.  Spoiler alert, we did.

Leave a Reply

