Saturday in the Park

Okay, not in the park, but in Time Square.  OMG, I love Time Square!!  Shelby said she felt like she was standing in the middle of a giant advertisement.  There were so many people and things to do and look at.  It was the ultimate place to go and people watch. 

There's the Ball that Drops

Before we went to Time Square, we went to the subway station and got an unlimited metro card for 7 days for $27.00. Every ride is like $2.25 so we felt like we would get our money’s worth, and boy did we. And it was good for the subway and the bus. I can’t say enough what a good deal it was because we rode it several times a day. The one thing I would have changed is I would have gotten more familiar with the bus routes because we mainly rode the subway so there was still quite a bit of walking. 

Shelby and her Metro Card

We went to the M&M Store with not one, not two, but THREE FLOORS OF FUN!  At least that’s what they yelled at us when we walked in. 

M&M Store

We went to the Hershey store with only one floor of fun, but a heck of a lot of chocolate: 

Kiss, Anyone?

Five Pounds of Chocolate, Anyone?

I have a friend, Faith, that I met when I went to her high school graduation and I was 15.  She is my stepmom’s friend’s daughter and she used to live here but moved recently to New York.  Her brother was also in town and they wanted to meet us for lunch. 

Faith and Linda

Faith is the reason I’m still able to live here because she found me (somehow) at the stock show a few years ago and hooked me up with my second job.  I told her to get her apartment in New York ready for when I’m finished with school because I might be looking for a place to stay. 

After lunch, we went to Serendipity 3 (yes, just like the movie) and waited three and a half hours for frozen hot chocolate.  But, dang, it was sure worth the wait.  We actually walked across the street to Bloomingdale’s, walked around a bit, and came back for some more waiting.  Still, worth the wait.  If anyone wants to know what I want for Christmas, it’s a frozen hot chocolate mix.  Seriously, yum: 

Frozen Hot Chocolate from Serendipity 3

Then, you may not know, but the Guggenheim is free on Saturdays from 5:45 to 7:45.  We had tickets in our City Pass, but it was a choice between the museum and a Circle Line boat tour around Manhattan.  We went free to the Guggenheim and then did the boat tour.  When I say “free”, it was free with a donation, but still definitely worth it. 

The Guggenheim

The inside of the elevator was curved around exactly like the outside of the building.  They closed the top of the museum first so we took the elevator up and started there.  It’s a spiral walk down to see the art, most of it modern art.  The building and the art was absolutely beautiful.  

On the way back to the hotel, we walked by a four-toed statue (like from LOST).  Actually, it was a five-toed statue, but Shelby and I laughed forever.  

Just Randomly Outside Some Apartment. Thoughts?

Directions to my apartment?  Yeah, you go down two blocks from the park and it’s the one with the giant foot out front.  I’m sorry, whatYeah, there’s a foot in front of my building.  I’m sorry, a foot?  That’s what I said.  I live in apartment 3, just ring the bell.

After a short subway ride back to our hotel, it was straight to bed for us.  Actually, back to the hotel to watch Mike Rowe on HGTV.  Boy, that guy is awesome.  Wait, and then it was House Hunters and then House Hunters International.  I can’t stop watching, someone turn it off!  

First day and my feet are already tired, but it was a great day!

1 Comment

    Trackbacks

    1. George Michael always said, You Gotta Have Faith! « Dealing with Life

    Leave a Reply

