iPhone, uPhone, we all love our iPhones

Right before Christmas I got my present.  My present to me, from me.  It was an iPhone.  My sister got one a while ago, Shelby got one for her birthday when her phone contract was up, and it was finally my turn.  Let me start by saying that I have no idea how I’ve lived so long without one.

And blah, blah, blah, I can’t stop playing Words with Friends.  It’s Scrabble with my family, and I love it.  However, bloggers block is killing me, seriously.  This phone is the coolest thing ever, but I don’t have the words. 

I do have one story:  the other day on the way to school there was a really bad accident and there’s only one way I know of to get there.  So I got off the highway, put in the name of my school and voila, a new route and I arrived on time.  Pre-iPhone I probably would have turned around in the face of that “adversity”.  But now I have no excuses!

I’ve got to go though because I’ve got Scrabble to play!

Update:  I was laying (lying?) in bed last night reading my free book on the Kindle app and realized the entire point I wanted to blog.  I could have gone to my WordPress app and updated it, but I was too busy reading.  I can’t afford a Kindle and didn’t even really think I wanted one because I don’t have a lot of time to read, there’s just something about holding a book and snuggling in a chair to read, and I don’t generally buy books, I go to the library; however, the app was free as a lot of apps are.    What I didn’t know is that there are also free books to download.   That was really exciting and I downloaded and read my first one called Vanish, which turned out to be a Christian book that I really liked. 

I also really liked that I always had it with me because it was right there on my phone.  I was getting my oil changed and just broke out my phone to read my book, I was getting two new tires…..you get the point.  Then I went back to Amazon and sorted the best sellers priced low to high and started downloading free books that looked interesting.  I’ve gone back and looked at a few of the books that I got for free and now you have to pay for them, so I guess it depends on when you get them.  I look back over them periodically to see if there are new ones, but I’ve already got 5 more that I’ve downloaded.  A lot of the ones that are free are the classics:  Treasure Island, The Scarlet Letter, Little Women, Sherlock Holmes; but there are some fairly new ones that are free or discounted. 

I know the commercial says, “there’s an app for that”, but there really is an app for everything.  And for me, besides Words with Friends (there really should be a support group), Kindle is by far my favorite so far.

3 Comments

  1. Grandma

    love our phones and love scrabble. oops, its my turn!

  2. carikelley

    I’m trying not to be jealous. I keep telling myself that I don’t have time for all that nonsense, but think of the time I could save! It’s overwhelming how much stuff you could do on those things. maybe some day… Do you have the bible on your iPhone? Youversion.com has a free bible app that LifeChurch.tv created! It’s amazingly versatile!

    • christyd4

      Yes, I got the YouVersion and can go anywhere in the bible with just a touch. I love it! They even have reading plans on there.

      I guess I thought you had an iPhone because I thought you’d blogged from it before from a beach in Texas. I may have been dreaming that.

Leave a Reply

