How Do I Get a Job at Sterling, Cooper, Draper, Pryce?

Note from the Blogger:  If you don’t watch Mad Men, thanks for stopping by, but you can disregard.  I hope we can still be friends.

Finally, FINALLY, I got through this season of Mad Men.  I would say SPOILER ALERT, but if you haven’t seen it by now, you’re probably not going to see it. 

Before I start, I have to say that I have loved John Slattery, who plays Roger Sterling, since he was Will’s brother on Will & Grace.  I love a silver fox.  And in a weird “how would you remember that?” trivia way, he’s married to a woman who married and divorced George Clooney, Talia Balsam.  She plays Mona, his ex-wife on the show.  Sometimes I think of how smart I’d be if I didn’t have all this useless “knowledge” in my head. 

Anyway……It took me forever to get through this season because I haven’t had a lot of time, but Sunday I took a nap and therefore, was up all night.  As I’m sitting there feeling so bad for Don Draper, I wonder why I feel so bad that his wife ultimately left him, but didn’t feel all that bad for her when he was being…well, Don Draper.  In all his Don Draperness, I never really felt bad for her.  Isn’t that weird?  Shouldn’t I have been up cheering for her when she finally got the nerve to leave him, even if it was only to be with another man?  I wasn’t.  I felt so bad for him all alone in that room.  Now, he deserved it.  Seriously.  But she only left him because she had the support and promise of another man.   She would have never left him on her own.

I think that’s true in the world today too.  My monkey only left me because he had somewhere else to go, and he’ll only leave her when he finds someone else to go to.  That makes me sad, not for him, but for all the wasted time. 

I know that Mad Men is based in the ’60’s but I can still remember feeling like I was the ONLY person with divorced parents and that was in the mid-’70’s.  I know that divorce wasn’t widely heard of in Mad Men-time so I’m surprised they finally let Betty leave, but I still can’t help feeling bad for Don in all his Don Draperness. 

What is it about that guy?  What is it about that show?  When I went to see (500) Days of Summer there was a commercial for this season in the previews and the random girl next to me said something about it to her boyfriend and I said something and we talked until the movie started about how good that show was.  It was before this season started when Peggy told Pete she had his baby and gave it up for adoption.  That was seriously the best scene of last season.  I could feel her pain through the TV screen. I’m not kidding you, Peggy rocks!

We can pause for a moment as you think to yourself (or say out loud) that I’m too involved.  I know.  That could have been my disclaimer instead of the spoiler alert.  I know I’m too involved.  I know I need some semblance of a life.  I’m very self-aware.  But just wait until I post my blog about this season’s Grey’s Anatomy or Flash Forward.  And try to stop me when I finally see Season Five of LOST on December 8th or when the final season starts in February.  You can disregard if you like, or you can indulge me in my escapes.

So they ended with Betty on a plane to get a quickie divorce in Reno with her new man that I felt like she didn’t really know very much about.  He has grown kids and is quite a bit older than she is and she and Don have really young kids.  It just seemed odd to me that she picked him.  Is he really that great of a guy?  And are they going to continue with her character even though she’s no longer with Don?  I guess we’ll see.  I’d certainly rather have January Jones on Mad Men than a regular on SNL, so if it’s up to me she can stay. 

And if I were to say something directly to the creators of Mad Men, I would say that waiting for a whole year to see the next season just isn’t going to work for me.  And even though I’ll have LOST to get me all the way until summer, can you work on the timing please?

2 Comments

  1. i have never watched mad men but read this post anyway and tried to act like I knew what you were talking about. 🙂

    • christyd4

      That’s so great. It really is good, but if you wanted to watch you’d have to wait a whole year for season 4!!

Leave a Reply

