Elton Was Right, Sorry Really Does Seem To Be The Hardest Word

The monkey called me this morning like nothing had happened.  Like he hadn’t left our kids waiting outside the church for 40 minutes in the cold last night.  Just like it was an everyday phone call that he makes every day (June would be so proud).   And when I said something about it, he started yelling at me.  He really is unbelievable.  I told him I had every right to be mad at him and he kept yelling and spewing his lies and right before I hung up on his sorry arse, I said…………um, I can’t tell you what I said.  It wasn’t very Christian, let alone ladylike, but I can’t even explain to you how good it made me feel to say IT.  He called back immediately and I picked up and hung up because I didn’t want to talk to him, but also didn’t want him to feel like he got the last word in the form of leaving me a message.  I’m not proud. 

Then my cell started blowing up.  I have to tell you I’m thankful he didn’t come over here, afterall, he lives only one block away as you know.  So three foul texts, my continued ignoring, and he called back two hours later crying about how sorry he was.  Yes, you are sorry.  But really, why couldn’t he have started the first conversation like that?  Why all the yelling at me?  If he would have started the first conversation with, “I’m so sorry about last night, lie, lie, lie (I don’t really care why he was late), lie some more”, I would have been fine, but to start out by attacking me?  Don’t make me say IT again, monkey.

As to the question if they’re better off with him in their lives, I still can’t answer it, but it appears to everyone the answer is no.  Would it be better for them to move away from him and have them build him up into something really big and always wonder what would have happened if they knew him better?  Who knows.  I tell them all the time that they got only the best parts of him.  Shelby asked me which parts, and I said his hair.  My kids have great hair because of him. 

So I’m still on the journey I started and we’ll see where things go when I finish school.  However, if you would have asked me this morning, you would have had to find me looking for boxes because I was so out of here.  But here I stay, and on we go to another day.  Don’t worry, I’m not going to rhyme forever.

Leave a Reply

