Always Happy Halloween

The great thing about Halloween is you can dress up as anything you want. It’s the one day a year that you can dress up as a princess, a pirate, or even a bunny, if you’re one of those girls. I’ve always thought Halloween was funny in that you teach your kids not to talk to strangers until the one night a year you go to their house and ask for candy. I’m sure that’s pretty confusing for a kid.

I wish this was the only day I was dressed as a single mom of three with a saggy chest and grey hair; and then the rest of the year I was a happily married stay at home mom. Unfortunately, I’m not even that on Halloween. So this Halloween I’m dressed as the mom of a masquerade ball girl, a beer wench (or tavern girl), and a punky pirate.

Shelby’s first Halloween she was a panda bear. She was so cute, but she hated the head. I think it was heavy and she didn’t understand. This year it was her first Halloween to go trick or treating by herself with friends.  I was so nervous.  I made her carry her phone and call me when she got home.  It all turned out okay, of course, but it’s the letting go that’s always the problem.

Halloween 2009

Leave a Reply

