What’s on Your DVR?

Let me say that I’m not proud, but I don’t know what we did before a DVR.  Seriously…..what did we do before DVRs?  Our VCRs flashing 12:00 and archaic timers to set.  It seems like a lifetime ago.  I tend to record quirky movies that I’ve only heard of before but haven’t seen.  Some of the movies aren’t, let’s say “kid friendly”, so those are the ones I’m cleaning up now that the girls are gone. 

Here are (is?) my two cents on the ones that I’ve watched so far.  Keep in mind that I’m not recommending ANY of them:

Idiocracy – Starring the cute Wilson brother, Luke.  It was actually a very funny movie about a couple that was put in an experimental pod, not unlike Forever Young with Mel Gibson.  However, in this one, they went forward 500 years and humans were morons.  Luke Wilson started the journey as “perfectly average” and ended up being the smartest man on the planet in the year 2505.  It was a frightening look at the moral decay that could be coming if we don’t stop watching our DVRs and start reading a book or two.  Just so you know, after watching this movie I put a couple of books on hold at the library.  I feel better already.

Clay Pigeons – A black comedy with the object of my affection, Vince Vaughn.  He was a serial killer and the FBI agent, Janeane Garofalo (not believable at all), was blaming Joaquin Phoenix for the  murders.  Vince Vaughn had this ridiculous way of laughing that was this high-pitch nervous giggle, it was very funny.  And he always wore a cowboy hat.  He was very cute, you know, for a serial killer.   Joaquin Phoenix had an adorable way of being in the wrong place at the wrong time.  The sheriff asked him to please stop finding dead bodies.

Trainspotting – The most vile, disgusting 95 minutes of my life.  I need to go take a Silkwood shower and find a way to clean between my ears without gouging out my eyes.  In my defense (yes, I have one), the only reason I recorded this is because it had Ewan McGregor, Jonny Miller from Eli Stone, and McArmy from Grey’s Anatomy; but I’m never getting that 95 minutes back.

Oh, there’s more.  There’s The Big Lebowski, We Own the Night, The Mission, and The Nativity Story along with Facing the Giants, Emma,  and Princess Protection Program.  But that’s it for now.  Don’t worry, I’m using my Barnes & Noble gift card to get something thought provoking tomorrow.  That will hold me over until my library books come in.

3 Comments

  1. carikelley

    Oh, Emma! The Gweneth Paltrow version or Kate Beckinsale version? The latter is far superior, in my humble opinion–being the expert that I am in all Jane Austen move adaptations. Since the TV is probably airing the more popular Gweneth version, you can probably get the other from your library…they were both released in ’96, so you have to be careful you’re getting the right one!

  2. Cindi

    I have seen Clay Pigeons more than once, when I used to be into dark serial killer movies like that, I’m not proud. But Vince and Joaquin WERE so cute in it!

Trackbacks

  1. My Family Newsletter 2009 « Dealing with Life

Leave a Reply

