4th of Julys of Days Gone By

I remember the 4th of Julys of my childhood.  The whole family getting together on the street, having a barbecue, and setting off fireworks all night long.  I was probably 8 years old and I was hit in the cheek with a pop bottle rocket.  It was terrifying.  Same 4th of July, the curtains in our neighbor’s house caught on fire because of a rogue swirling something.  Fireworks were legal back then.

I remember going to a Rockies game many years ago with the monkey and my dad and there was a rain delay causing the firework show to be delayed by about three hours.  I was exhausted by the time it was over and even more tired when I had to go to work the next day.   However, it was the most beautiful show ever.  We were on an upper deck and it felt like they were right over our head.  It was amazing.

When I’m where the girls are for the Fourth, I like going to a display like downtown OKC, or some place that puts on a show.  I’m not a big fan of lighting them in the middle of your street, and unless it’s a sparkler I don’t even want them playing with them.   This is probably one of the many places in child rearing that the monkey and I disagree, but luckily they are safely in Oklahoma.

This year, seriously, my neighbors have some sort of high velocity items that shake my house even though anything you light is illegal in my area.  My dogs are terrified.  TERRIFIED.  I brought them into the kitchen and I can’t even get them to go out so they can go to the bathroom.  I hope they hold it all night because they are cowering and not going anywhere.  I feel like old lady Kravitz, mad at the idiots down the street, and hoping that no one sets my trees on fire.  Oh, and I’m praying for rain so I can get some sleep.

Leave a Reply

