T Minus One Month

In exactly one month I’m going to be swimming a half mile, riding my bike 12 miles, and running/walking/crawling 3 miles.  Crazy?  Maybe.  Determined to lose weight?  Absolutely! 

I’ve been working out twice a day for the past couple of days, and then my training partner went out of town.  Here’s my real test:  can I work out as effectively on my own?  Hopefully. 

When I was 20, I did the Fat Tire Classic with my dad, which means I rode my bike from Frisco to Breckenridge over a mountain pass and then back the next day.  To understand the accomplishment you’d have to see a map.  To get ready for it I rode my bike 15 miles every day after work with a mountain ride on the weekends.  I hated it, every minute of it.  I’m not an exerciser by nature, it’s a chore.  I loved how I looked, I had awesome legs, but if it weren’t for my dad, I wouldn’t have done any of it.

What I’m doing in one month is going to be a million times harder than that, and I’m 18 years older.   “Why do it?”, you ask.  Well, I need a goal, and a date, and a life.  I’ve said from the beginning that I don’t necessarily WANT to do a triathlon, I want to be ABLE to do a triathlon.  Big difference.  I want to be in the kind of shape that I don’t have to train for a year, I could just do it if I wanted.  And not always a tri, but a half marathon maybe, or a 10K where I’m not dying the next day.  And, more importantly, I want to be a better example for my kids.

I guess I’d better stop blogging and get moving.  Pray that I don’t drown on August 2nd.

3 Comments

  1. carikelley

    I’m soooo impressed….from my couch. Seriously, I’m not sure I could ever have the discipline to train long enough to get to a lofty goal like that! But you can do it! Yes you can ! Yes you can!

  2. You can do it! but I’m glad it’s you and not me 😉

Trackbacks

  1. How Would Bob Harper Train Me? « Dealing with Life

Leave a Reply

