Summertime and the Living is Easy

Everyone that knows me knows how much I love summer.  It’s going to sound awful, but my kids go to their grandparents in Oklahoma for the whole summer, and it’s my most wonderful time of the year.  First, let me say that I love my kids more than anything in this world.  People that know me know that for sure.  Second, I’m a single mom, and by summertime I’m honest in saying that I need a break.  Third, my kids would rather go hang out at the lake and get their grandparent’s attention a million times more than they would like to stay here and watch me work. 

I always say that my summer’s going to be the best one yet, my “summer of love” if you will;  but let me tell you how it really goes.  I go to dinner and catch up on movies with my friends.  I clean the house and redecorate something.  This year I’m painting my living/dining room and kitchen.   This lasts for about two weeks before I start missing my kids so much I’m annoying with how many times I call them.  I already miss them just talking about it.  I’m really just a big talker.

So I’ll try again for my “summer of love”.  It officially starts Thursday when school is finally out and the last two fly to Oklahoma.  I promise, though, that by July 9th I’ll be crying for them to come home again.  I’m nothing if not predictable.  Happy Summer!

3 Comments

  1. meandmom

    Awww…I hope you do have a fantastic summer! I feel the same way….I have a small joyous feeling knowing that I get to put 2 girls on a plane for 3 whole glorious weeks with their grandma. You’ll have to post some before and after shots of your painting!

  2. carikelley

    I must admit I’m more than a teensy bit jealous…the “freedom” of having the house to yourself…ahhh! I get giddy when I know everyone is leaving and I’ll be home alone for an hour!

    Your girls are SO lucky to have such great grandparents!

Trackbacks

  1. My Family Newsletter 2009 « Dealing with Life

Leave a Reply

