HB to Me

So here it is, halfway to 76.  At least I’m not 40 yet, right Sherri?  Oh, but I will be soon enough.  I’d like to keep this upbeat, but I’ve been in a funk this week.  I miss my dad.  He died a year ago Sunday and I’m trying not to think about it, but it comes out in other ways.  Like getting stressed out about other things.  It’s also dance recital weekend, which is always a lot of work.   I had to give another awful speech last night, this time about gun control.  Have I told you lately that I’m NOT a public speaker??  Then I had a dream last night that everyone forgot my birthday.  No one even spoke to me all day.  Enough about all of that.

My kids tried to make me a cake last night.  Not just a cake, but my mom’s FAMOUS chocolate cake.  It’s legendary in our family.  Shelby was responsible for the cake and Kasey was making the icing.  Shelby got to the part of the recipe that called for buttermilk and they had to call grandma to find out what to do because we don’t have buttermilk. 

My mom told Kasey to pour in a 1/2 cup of milk, put vinegar in it, and let it set for 5 minutes to make buttermilk.  Kasey didn’t understand what grandma was talking about so she gave the phone to Shelby.  What my mom was trying to tell them was to pour 1/2 cup of milk in a measuring cup and add the vinegar to the measuring cup and let it set for 5 minutes. 

What Shelby actually did was pour a 1/2 cup of milk in the mixing bowl with the rest of the ingredients and then didn’t know what to do with the vinegar.  She then just poured a teaspoon of vinegar in the cake  mix after the milk and let the whole thing set for 5 minutes.  I don’t think that’s how you make buttermilk.

Anyway, that wasn’t the only problem.  Kasey was making the icing with unsweetened baking chocolate, which is right.  She got it all melted and when the cake came out she poured it over the top thinking that was the icing, which isn’t right.  The problem there was that she forgot to mix in the powdered sugar and it was just a liquid mix of unsweetened chocolate and butter.  YUCK! 

So the cake is ruined, but they really did try hard.  Shelby, of course, was devastated, but I think it was a sign that maybe I don’t need cake.  Maybe the ice cream cake I’m getting at work today is enough.   Of course it’s enough.

2 Comments

  1. meandmom

    why is it that birthdays are never what you expect them or want them to be! Happy Birthday girlfriend! And I won’t let the fact that I ALREAD am 40 hurt my feelings one little bit on your big day 😉

    Hugs to you and sweet thoughts about your dad.

  2. carikelley

    I’ve been thinking Happy Birthday thoughts about you all day, but I’ve mostly kept them to myself. I know, I’ve got it all wrong. Happy Birthday!! I didn’t leave you a note on Facebook b/c everybody always wishes everybody else HB on FB. and I didn’t want to be like everyone else…~~cuz it’s really all about me, right.~~jeesh.

    It sounds like your girls need to spend some time with Grandma in the kitchen–they just weren’t ready to tackle THE choc cake yet!

Leave a Reply

