One More Before I Go a.k.a I Should be Packing

Good gravy, just go already……OH, I KNOW!

Why do you think people like to see other people fail? Why are there sites like Gosselins Without Pity? Do you think that because people are in the spotlight it gives other people the right to tear them down? Do you think it makes people feel better about themselves when they see people fail? I think it’s sad. It’s all sad. I look at our society and wonder how it ever got to this point. In the immortal words of Rodney King, “can’t we all just get along?”.

This is another reason to be unplugged. I look at Kate Gosselin on the Today show and I feel awful for watching it. I wonder if she’d give the big house back to have a normal family life, or if everything she puts up with is worth it. I know they made the decision to put themselves out there, and I’m by no stretch a Kate fan. I have been witness to a relationship where the husband was verbally berated so much that he was a shell of a man, and I wondered why he stayed. Everyone has their reasons and their tolerance level, but I just feel like there’s a way to communicate with each other and I’m very sensitive to tone.

I wonder if the alleged “other woman” in that case is proud of herself; or if it’s not really true, if her brother is proud of himself for telling people it happened. I’m not proud for knowing as much about it as I do. I also wonder if the paparazzi and Perez Hilton’s of the world can look themselves in the mirror and be proud of themselves. Where has our compassion gone? Do people have to give up their right to privacy because they love acting? Now, I know there are famewhores that shop at Kitson and eat at the Ivy who crave the attention, but I wonder if that’s everyone.

I’m unplugging for a week, and the world will go on even if I think it won’t. In the 11th grade, I looked across the courtyard at school and saw a friend talking to someone else, but couldn’t hear what they were saying. It sounds weird, but I had sort of an out of body experience. It was the first time in my life that I actually thought about the world going on even though I wasn’t there to hear what was happening. Could I really have been that self-centered? Yeah, I was 16, so probably.

1 Comment

  1. Cindi

    I hear you on all of this, I pride myself on not getting caught up in celeb gossip (it’s really only been in the last year or so that I have managed to avoid it). But you have to be living under a rock not to hear some of it. I think the J & K thing is sad and I wonder too if she would give it all back for the normal, anonymous life she once had worrying about money and living in a house too small, was it all that bad? It also makes me sad that we live in a world so devoid of compassion and filled with jealously that it seems a majority of people out there rejoice at others misery. The Bible is very clear that we should rejoice when others rejoice and mourn when others mourn.
    IMHO, I don’t think Jon cheated, I mean child support for 8 kids, is he that stupid? But do think maybe he should forego the nights out and stay at home with the family since he is clearly at celebrity status now. They have to be able to take the bad with the good, I just really feel for the kids.
    Hey, while I am at work typing this – you are cruisin’ – hope you’re having fun!

Leave a Reply

