Cruisin’ on a Sunday Afternoon

First, I’m digging my new layout.  It’s really Spring-y.

Second, I should be working my editing job, but I’m easily distracted tonight and if you haven’t heard I’m leaving for AA or my Alaskan Adventure (thanks, Cindi) on Saturday and have a list of a million things I need to do going through my head.

Third, or C (ha!), I wanted to give an update on what I stand for.   Like Superman, it’s truth, justice, and the American way.  Actually it was honesty, integrity, and providing a better life for my children.  I talked a lot about changing my story, and how hopefully all those things will help break the three generations of divorced parenting.  I really don’t want that to be my legacy.  I also said that I want my girls to know that even when you’re down, you can pull yourself up by the bootstraps (thanks to Sherri for that) and keep going no matter what, because that’s what they see me do.  It ended up being a lot more personal than I cared to do, but once I started there was no holding back and you know how I overshare.  I did make sure before I started that everyone had signed a confidentiality agreement and that what happens in Mrs. Lee’s class stays……well, you know.

So the only reason I’m excited about going on this cruise is so I’ll stop talking about this freakin’ cruise and just go already.  I’ve been talking about this since September of 2007 when I was first invited.  The anticipation has truly been forever, and I’m sure it will never live up to the hype in my head.  If, in fact, I get to go, because anything can happen between today and my 12:35 flight on Saturday.  My mom has to drive 12 hours tomorrow to come and take care of my kids.  So if everyone would please pray for my mom, Carlos and his mom, that they make it here safely with my 210 pounds of beef (long story), and I’m able to cruise.  If not, you’ll have to hear about it for years to come when I talk about the cruise that never was.  Have you ever said a word so many times that it doesn’t even sound like a word anymore?  You’re feeling me.

Last thing, check out Shelby’s blog for a new post.  Even she can’t wait for me to leave, but she truly is a good soul.

3 Comments

  1. carikelley

    When you said AA, I thought you meant….oh, nevermind. You’re going on a cruise?! Really?! jk
    Have fun, relax, take a journal so you can write down blog ideas (just in case you can’t get to a computer!). Of course, we want to hear about every detail in the way that only you can tell it!
    I would have loved to see your speech. I bet it was moving.

  2. carikelley

    oh, and I like your new digs!

  3. meandmom

    I like your new layout too! It made me smile when I saw it. I agree with Cari…you should post your speech!

    Have the BEST time on your Adventure! Take lots of pics…the only regret? That you won’t be in Seattle long enough for a visit 😦

    Next time!

Leave a Reply

