Did anyone see where I left my house?

About three years ago I lost my house.  And not in the “where’d you put your house way”, but in the foreclosure way of so many other people.  When I realized I was  not going to be able to keep it, I put it on the market and I started looking around for a rental for us to move into.  I was terrified of coming home one day and finding all our belongings on the front lawn.  The trauma of us losing our house was going to be bad enough, but a million times worse if we had no place to go and everything we own scattered on the lawn.   The terror was consuming me and I was working three jobs, but it was like treading water that was up to my ears.

I was talking to an acquaintance one day and she asked how we were doing.  I told her I wasn’t going to be able to keep my house, but I was having trouble finding another one.  I hated looking because I couldn’t really afford anything that was renting at the time plus the security deposit.  I told her that I just needed someone to rent me their house for “THIS” amount of money without all the hoops you have to go through with an agency.  We had just started going to church, but I knew that she was a Christian and I asked her to pray for us.

Three days later, she called me and said the rhymes with Schmohnson’s would rent me their house for “THIS” amount of money.  “What?  Are you kidding me?”, I said.  She said that she had talked to them and it was the beginning of the housing market crash.  They had been trying to sell their house for six months and were moving in two months.  If it didn’t sell in that time, then they wanted to just rent it.  They had already bought another house, and didn’t need to sell this one, but didn’t want to pay two mortgages either.  They had two other people looking at it, but if they didn’t want it then it was mine to rent.

It was a blessing, I mean, a true blessing.  They even said that when I get to a place when I’m able to buy again that I will only have to get financing for the mortgage that they still owe, and they will work out a private loan for the remaining amount to get to a fair selling price.  I love this house.  I mean, I LOVE THIS HOUSE.  It’s perfect for us.  There’s a huge backyard, plenty of room for the kids, and until recently an awesome sewing room.  Eight months after I moved in, my divorce was final, and I started working from home.  My boss was worried that I would become too secluded through that difficult time, but I’ve pulled through.  It’s truly amazing how far I’ve come in this house.

Recently I’ve thought about what I’m going to do when school is out.  Thanks to rhymes with Schmaren, I’ve also contemplated more the possibility of not staying here after I graduate.  I’ve said previously that I don’t know why I still live here.  I moved here 19 years ago to be closer to my dad, but he moved, and then he died.  When I get closer to graduating I’m going to look around more, and hopefully the economy will be better, but I kind of like being a renter now.  I like the fact that I can go anywhere I want to.  I’m not saying that I don’t want to buy a house in the future, but I kind of like the freedom.  Does that make sense?

The girls and I were talking about what’s going to happen after I get out of school and if we were going to buy this house.  I told them I didn’t know if I wanted to buy a house by myself, I’d rather get married and buy one with my husband.  Shelby said, “Well, you’d better get started then.”  That made me laugh, she makes it sound so easy.  Oh, if it were only that easy.

2 Comments

  1. meandmom

    Quite a road you’ve been on my friend! I’m glad that you have a sanctuary to retreat to. It’s sweet that Shelby is so open to your future…that’s a healthy sign!

Trackbacks

  1. George Michael always said, You Gotta Have Faith! « Dealing with Life

Leave a Reply

