A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Derby Car Race

Guess who was at the derby car race/last place I want to be single last night? If you guessed rhymes with Schmaren then you are right. There were a lot of people, and I was sitting down avoiding small talk when out of the corner of my eye, there she was. I have no ill will toward her so I wasn’t avoiding her, but I certainly wasn’t going to ask her for any more advice.

Anyway, she spotted me and walked over to apologize for what she said to me on Sunday. She said she felt convicted to tell me what she did, but she did apologize for not telling me some good with it. She told me that if I stayed in and needed any kind of support then she’d be there for me. She also told me that when I was close to getting out of school that I would have a job at the company she works for while finishing school.

I told her why I was so discouraged with what she said and the fact that I was already a little discouraged with my focus and she empathized. Needless to say, I was glad I was a lamb making small talk and glad that I went.

As a final note: I am unable to make a good, fast derby car. Some of those parents (read dads) are hard core and can make really fast derby cars. That’s not me. This was Kasey’s last race since she’s moving to the middle school program and I was hoping to help her make a really good car so she would win something. That did not work out as I had hoped, but they weren’t last, and their wheels didn’t fall off.

1 Comment

  1. meandmom

    Yay for secure derby wheels!! I would have no idea where to begin and I probably would have been the worst mother of the year and totally not gone.

    On the up side…I’m glad you were able to have a second, more positive discussion with Schmaren.

Leave a Reply

