Can You Paint Me a Disneyland?

We were listening to the country OnDemand this morning and I heard a song I hadn’t heard in a long time.  It was Paint Me a Birmingham by Tracey Lawrence.   He sees a painter and asks if he can paint anything or just an ocean scene.  The painter says for $20 he can paint him anything and basically the man asks him if he can paint him back to a time in his life when he was really happy.  It was in Birmingham, in a house with a porch that goes all the way around, and back into “her” loving arms again. 

It reminded me of a time after the monkey left and the girls and I were in the car when that song came on.  They wanted to know what the song was about and I told them it was about wanting to go back to a time in your life when you were really happy.  I asked them when they were really happy and Shelby and Kasey said it was when they were little (Shelby 6 and Kasey 4) and we went to Disneyland.  I took them by myself because the monkey couldn’t bear the thought of a road trip so he flew out there to meet us.  My little one went to grandma’s because she was only 2 and in my mind too small to enjoy Disneyland.  We drove to Phoenix to see my dad and stepmom and spent Easter and then drove over to LA for Knott’s Berry Farm and Disneyland.  We even drove down to Legoland for the day.

We had such a good time, however, looking back I realized that when I say “we” had a good time, I only mean the girls and I.  I remember the monkey being on the phone the whole time with “work”, and saying he had a good time, but seeming like he wanted to be anywhere else but there.  How can you be so miserable at the happiest place on earth?

That day in the car, the girls and I made up a song that went with the Paint Me a Birmingham tune.

Can you paint me a Disneyland?  Make it look just the way I planned.

Mickey’s house on the edge of town, porch going all the way around.

Minnie there in the front porch swing, cotton dress, maybe early spring.

For a while we’ll be fine again if you paint me a Disneyland.

We would sing that all the time.  I think they really liked thinking back to that time when they were so happy.  We went again a few years later with my mom when the girls were a little older and we had a much better time.  I like to think back to that time at Disneyland.

Where do you wish you could paint yourself?

1 Comment

  1. meandmom

    I can’t tell you how many trips I took like your first Disney trip! It always amazes me when the girls say they wish that their dad and I were still married….I keep thinking….he wasn’t here then either! Oh well….

    I would paint my future….I think that is where my happiness is. 🙂

Leave a Reply

