Consider Yourself Updated

So I’m still reading my bible in a year.  Those Israelites are driving me crazy though.  Why won’t they listen to Moses?    Here’s what bothers me the most:  those Israelites have seen all the miracles and wrath of God, but they continue to doubt.  They are a bunch of whiners about not having meat and why did they have to leave Egypt.  Don’t they remember they were slaves in Egypt?  I keep thinking that if they still doubt when they see first-hand all that God can do, then what chance do I have?  Then, when things start going really well, as they have been, I get nervous and start looking around for it to fall apart.  I have trust issues.

I enrolled my daughter in high school tonight.  It was completely surreal.  She was accepted into the one with the International Baccalaureate (IB) program that she wanted.  She had to get four teachers to recommend her, take a math test, writing assessment, and interview.  Then she had to wait two weeks for the acceptance letter.  I’m so proud of her.   They said that she’ll be taking the exact same tests at the end of the program that people from other countries take.  AND if she passes all the IB classes and tests (which she better), then she’ll have at least a year and a half of college credit to transfer.  She’ll possibly start college as a second semester Sophmore when she graduates high school.

My other two daughters are moving to a charter school.  Let me start by saying I’ve never really sheltered my kids, they’ve been in public school since the beginning.  I know why people homeschool, but it was never for me.  It’s always been my thought that they’ll have to go into public and deal with different kinds of people at some point.  However, my middle daughter is getting lost in the shuffle and set to go to middle school next year.  I was terrified for her and started looking for other options.  I found a great one in a charter school where there are a maximum of 20 girls in one class and 20 boys in the other class per grade.  All the way to 8th grade.  She’ll get the attention she needs, the kind of learning she is good at, and advanced learning in a college preparatory K-8 school. 

I want to change my family tree.  It’s going to be a challenge.  On my side, well, my branches could be fuller; and on the monkey’s side, the tree goes straight up, no branches.  Those girls have a rough road ahead of them, but I’m giving it all I have for them to have a better future.

How’s school going for me, you ask?   I’m still hanging in there, but it’s really hard and I’m trying to get through anatomy this quarter.  I have two more weeks and then a much needed break.  I’m almost to what I want to be when I grow up and I’m plugging along.  Oh, and my dryer was delivered and I’ve been without my gossip website and not missing it that much.  So you’re completely updated on my life.  I’ll try and come up with something more interesting for the next blog!

1 Comment

  1. meandmom

    Congrats regarding HS but oh so very nerve racking! The Daugher is only in middle school and I am having the hardest time letting go of my protective instincts.

    As for those pesky Israelites….I have been a Christian my whole life…I too have seen God’s miracles…I too am a whiner and long for what is comfortable. I am comforted that those are God’s people because then I know I can be claimed by Him as well.

    Glad to know that your socks are getting cleaned again 😉

Leave a Reply

