Change, change, change….Change of Fools.

I know it’s “chain”, but I always used to think it was Change of Fools. I know, it doesn’t makes sense, but neither did Kenny Rogers leaving “400 children and a crop in the field”. It was actually “four hungry children and a crop in the field” and it was Lucille’s fine time to leave. I wonder if there ever is a “good” time to leave. It’s really painful no matter how many hungry children you have.

I’ve been wondering lately if people can change.  My monkey couldn’t/wouldn’t change, but what about people that aren’t pure evil? I started thinking about me. I haven’t always been the fabulous person I am today. I used to not always be honest, there might have been occasion when I was mean. People that worked with me would say that I was a real witch, with a b, before they got to know me. I didn’t really like new people and I still don’t like change. But I’m not that person anymore. I don’t lie, I don’t really drink (as a rule), and I don’t think I’m mean.

So because I can change, I started wondering if other people can change if they so desire. Maybe they can, but they have to really want to, right? Take a smoker. They have to really want to change in order to quit smoking. Experts say it’s like coming off heroin. I’ve never been addicted to anything, although if I were, I wish it was exercise. It’s not. Why can’t exercise be my heroin? I do have an addictive personality, just not to exercise, more like to eating. There was a time in my life when I would drink, and then I wouldn’t stop. I could live without it, but once I started I just kept on going and didn’t always make good decisions. That’s why I don’t drink as a rule.

In my first bad relationship I had a boss that said, “the only thing that makes a man change is Jesus”.   And I thought, “Yeah, that’s great, thanks” (I was young).   That guy didn’t change.  I do know that I’ve changed in the three years of going to church, my family has changed, my choices have changed. 

What do you wish you could change?

2 Comments

  1. meandmom

    Are you sure you want to open that can of worms???? 🙂 LOL

    I have changed the past 4 years, not so much my personality, but I have changed how I view my role as friend, mother, future spouse (hopefully). I changed my view of my contribution to my family. I changed my level of discipline. These have all been good changes.

    I wish I could change my ex. But I can’t. And that is the biggest change of all for me. Coming to peace with the fact that I can’t change him. That was a hard one!

  2. carikelley

    I wish I didn’t procrastinate. and could say what I think. I can type what I think, but it’s harder to say it out loud. I think that’s why I like to blog.

Leave a Reply

