What’s Your Hobby, Tell Me What’s Your Hobby

I’m on a journey of self-discovery.

You know when you’re in a relationship with someone and you tend to go along with what they like even if you don’t know if it’s something you like? Is that just me? In my previous life I was a bowler, a golfer, a softball playing fool; but have I done it since my world exploded? Not so much. I’ve played golf once after my dad died with my step-mom, and while it was enjoyable, I’m not sure I’d do it again, and haven’t.

My sister once told me that I take on my parents hobbies because I’m not interesting enough to have my own. That may not have been the EXACT wording, but it was close and that’s what I heard.  I’m a sheep, a follower, I don’t really know what I like to do.  Actually I do know what I like to do, but it’s watching TV, going to movies, blogging, and sleeping.  That’s embarrassing to admit. I guess it could be worse though, right?

So why is it so hard to come up with my own identity?  You’d think it would be easy to decide what you like and just do those things.  I think people get into a trap when they get with the people they do and just go along.  I have a friend who married a guy that goes camping and dirt biking.  I would never have seen her as a dirt biker and I don’t know if she truly likes doing it or goes along with him because it’s something he likes.  I’m not saying you shouldn’t compromise, but what if it was something she hated doing, would she still do it for him? 

Another example:  I hate camping.  I’m not an outdoorsy girl and there’s WAY too much preparation.  But what if my next beau (ha!) was a camping enthusiast. Would I like him enough to overcome my hatred of camping, or would I just do it and hate every minute of it?  That’s the fine line I’m questioning.

Maybe I just haven’t found anything that I’m really good at except watching TV, going to movies, etc.   That’s what I need to be searching for.  My dad once told me I had a good eye for photography, so I tried my hand at taking pictures; but I have no follow through and probably still have rolls of film to develop.  My mom’s hobby is sewing, and while I’m not good at sewing, I can do the embroidery and I do that for the girls’ dance studio to offset the tuition.  It then went from something I enjoyed doing to a job and you can read here about what happened to my sewing room. I wish I was creative enough to do something fresh and new and make actual money on it and then I might have a renewed love for it.

So what do you like to do? Maybe I can see if one of your hobbies will fit me.

9 Comments

  1. carikelley

    yeah, I don’t have any hobbies. Unless you count cleaning the house–I don’t think you can count that. I’m in your boat. Hey, maybe we could try boating together.

    I only recently (like within the last 2 months) realized that my fav food/restaurant was Italian. I used to just go where everyone else wanted to go when I got to “pick the place”.

    I always say I want to try pottery–maybe when I’m retired.

  2. carikelley

    oh, wait! Blogging. I like blogging 🙂

  3. Cindi

    I like to go to late night movies and I have this really great cousin who stays up late and goes with me! Not saying that you are a sheep for doing that.
    I too, wish I had a hobby or just something that I really have a talent for. I guess right now it is taking care of the kids and cleaning the house, that is really the only talent I seem to have. But after the kids are gone and I have actually have time to pursue something, who knows?

    • christyd4

      I do enjoy “Midnight Movie Madness”!!

  4. NancyinAtlanta

    Christy,
    Don’t believe everything your sister tells you. She probably speaks and never understands what you are hearing. By the way, You are very talented. I told Sherri you should be a writer. I think you are witty and I’m beginning to think you might have really been my little sister! After all, I do think we are a lot alike! Never underestimate your talent for writing or for being a survivor or a great Mom or a great sister or a great daughter. Believe me, those are talents.

  5. NancyinAtlanta

    By the way, my hobby is sarcasm, it used to be worrying but it wore me out. Just ask your sister! I am a pro!

  6. sister

    Ok…seriously..when did I say you were not interesting and you take on our parents hobbies???? What hobbies???

    • christyd4

      When I started doing embroidery with mom you said you were glad that I was taking on all our parents’ hobbies since I didn’t have any of my own. I heard that I wasn’t interesting.

  7. meandmom

    Funny….my problem is too many hobbies…not enough time! AND, I agree with NancyinAtlanta….you are a great writer. That is a wonderful hobby! I know what you mean though, I have been finding my new “me” too! I don’t know if I’m happy about that or sad to leave the comfort of the old me.

Leave a Reply

