The Grass May be Greener, But You Still Have to Mow

There are some very specific times that I wish I was not single.  For instance, when something is wrong with the house or a pet.  Or yesterday when there was a woodpecker in the dryer vent pecking on the metal and reverberating through the house.  I was terrified.  I thought it was going to come through the pipe and kill us all.  Okay, maybe not that dramatic, but it was scary.  I couldn’t even think of what I was going to do if it was in the house. 

So first, I made my 8 year old turn on the dryer to hopefully get it out.  Then I made my 10 year old, who wants to be a vet, go outside and take the dryer vent covering off to see if there was anything in there and guess what?  There was lint and the makings of a nest.  Yuck.  So she dug that out and I pounded on the house, but my best guess is that it flew out when the dryer came on.  I need a new covering that has a flap because mine doesn’t have that and it’s wide open underneath.

We had a dog that died a few years ago when I was still married, and I can’t even tell you how thankful I was to have had the monkey take care of that.  The puppy drowned in our pool and while I’m sure I could have dealt with it, I’m so thankful I didn’t have to.  There was a dead mouse in my kitchen one day and the girls yelled “call Daddy” and I said, “no, we can handle this”.  Because I don’t want them to think they need someone else to take care of them.  I shrieked a lot, but I did get that mouse outside to the trash.  I know I CAN do it alone, I just wish I didn’t have to all the time.

Another time I wish I was not single:  any kind of church event.  I do realize I’m not the only single person on the planet, but sometimes I really feel like it.  This last Sunday I started Financial Peace University at our church, and I seriously felt like I was the only non-couple.  I think there might have been one other, but she was older and probably widowed.  I’m the “D” word.    Then there was a meeting about fundraising for Shelby’s mission trip.  Again, not only was I the only single one there, I was the only one that didn’t bring my daughter because I had been there all day and she went Saturday night. 

Now, I know there are married people that wish more than anything that they were single and I’m sure it’s a “grass is always greener” thing, but there really are times I wish I had a partner to help with a lot of the things that go into our day-to-day lives.  However, with a blended family there are new stresses that I’m not willing to deal with right now, if ever.  I would like some kind of handyman that will come over and help me when I have a woodpecker stuck in my house though.  Is that too much to ask?

3 Comments

  1. meandmom

    I wish I had a husband every time I take out the garbage or walk the dog! 🙂

    I hear ya sistah!

    What kind of booty call is it when you just want someone to mow? 🙂

  2. carikelley

    Make no mistake, you’re job is not easy. I’m in awe every day of moms who “do it all”. I honestly don’t think I have what it takes. If it helps at all, I think you completely ROCK! 🙂

    and just b/c you have a husband doesn’t mean that you don’t have to be the one to wrestle the dead squirrel out of the dog’s mouth and get it to the trash can…just saying.

  3. cindy

    I wish I could recover; I hate being divorced. I always heard it was common but I feel it is uncommon. It is the most painful experience I have ever had and it stays with me always. I forget about it but it is ever present and has shattered my family.

Leave a Reply

