Nobody Puts Christy in a Corner

I was 16 when I saw Dirty Dancing in the theater. I remember it like it was yesterday. I had some loser boyfriend that took me to my grandma’s house to meet my mom and sister to go to the movie. I did say I remember like it was yesterday. It had everything I wanted in my life. Her close relationship with her dad, a boyfriend that danced, you know, things a 16-year-old thinks about. I’ve always wanted to be a dancer and I love to go dancing, but where’s my Johnny?

On a side note, I know it’s wrong, but I’m kind of mad at Patrick Swayze for still being alive and allegedly continuing to smoke. Is it wrong? Of course. Do I begrudge Patrick Swayze a long and healthy life? Absolutely not. My dad had pancreatic cancer and was dead in 4 weeks. I’m just a little bitter.

So back to Dirty Dancing. I loved that movie and so badly wanted to be Baby. I took ballroom dancing last year and it was so much fun, I just need a permanent partner that likes to dance.

1 Comment

  1. carikelley

    Oh, Sweet, Beautiful Christy. that post has heart-ache smeared all over it. I’m sorry for the loss of your dad. and for your missing Johnny.

    life isn’t fair.

Leave a Reply

