Now what?

So it’s the end of the year and the obligatory resolutions that no one keeps. I can only pray that 2009 is better than 2008 was. “It’s all fine in ’09”, my new motto.  There’s the enconomy, potential layoffs, and I have to get my passport for a cruise in May.  That probably shouldn’t have gone in with economy problems, but it’s a gift and I’m only responsible for spending money and my passport. 

I pray for focus all the time, but sometimes I just can’t seem to focus on the task at hand.  I’m easily distracted with the traps of the world, oh, and Rock Band.  (Let me just say that if my friend Anna hadn’t borrowed my Twilight series and/or I could afford to go to the movie AGAIN, then I’d still be obsessed with that.)  Back to Rock Band though.   I can’t stop playing the drums and I’m quite good actually.  I watch the band at church and think, “I can do that”.   I told Shelby I was signing our “band” up for the worship team and she said I was crazy and that we’re not as good as I think we are.  I doubt that.  As long as I can belt out “Wanted Dead or Alive” and that’s our only requirement, then I’m golden.  On a side note, I would really like a family-friendly RB.  Not that I don’t love hearing my 8-year-old belt out “Rooooxanne, you don’t have to turn on the red light”.

See?  I have no focus.  So back to my resolutions that I don’t plan on keeping for 2009.  We’re still participating in Operation Get Moving and walking, but I obviously need to step that up a little bit.  There was talk about tying a rope around me and making me drag someone on their Ripstik, but I don’t think that’s going to work for me.  I’m going to try and read my dad’s bible in a year again.  Last year I made it to April, but I probably really stopped in March, if I’m being honest.  I need discipline and focus, I wonder if that’s on sale somewhere because I didn’t get it for Christmas.  I did, however, get Rock Band, or did I already mention that?

FOCUS…..I should get back to work.

1 Comment

  1. carikelley

    Definitely say no to the rope/ripstick idea…that would just look silly. I would, however, LOVE to see/hear you belting out some Bon Jovi! Maybe you can make a vid and I could watch it on YouTube?? I loved watching the girls singing Voulez Vouz!

    Definitely yes to reading the bible. I had to pray, pray, pray for God to give me a hunger for his word, and boy did he ever.

    Focus…i’ll be blogging about this very thing soon I think–big time struggle for me too! Maybe I’ll come up with some words of wisdom…we’ll see!

Leave a Reply

