Karma, Karma, Karma Chameleon

I have only dated one “nice” guy in my whole dating life; and no, I didn’t marry that guy. The guy I married continues to be the pathological liar that he’s always been.  We’re no longer married and I’ve made peace with it and learned to just not listen to anything he says. It’s like I looked around for the one guy that would make me feel the worst and then thought, “that guy’s for me!”. Ugh!

I don’t understand why “nice” guys get such a bad rap. Who wouldn’t want one? I certainly want my daughters to date a nice guy. I am not looking forward to the day when a motorcycle shows up in my driveway with some guy that wants to date my daughter(s). It’s terrifying. (Not that nice guys can’t drive motorcycles, but you know what I mean.) I’d like them to date from the chess club pool, is that wrong?

Back to my point. I don’t know if I believe in karma, but the one nice guy I dated, I was horrible to. I was not a nice person at all and he was kind of a door mat, but he liked me so much. And he had a future. He’s the only guy I dated that had a future and really knew what he wanted to do with his life. How was that all wrong for me?

I know I’m not a unique story, I hear about this all the time. There’s even the saying about nice guys finishing last, but I just don’t know why that’s our nature and how to fix it for my future generation since I’d really like them to date someone nice. Our pastor said a few months ago that he prays for future spouses for his children and I had never thought of that, but it’s a good idea. I could obviously use all the help I can get.

1 Comment

    Trackbacks

    1. What was your name again? « Dealing with Life

    Leave a Reply

