It’s Beginning to Look A Lot Like Christmas

Everywhere you turn.

I love Christmas. Christmas as a kid was the best. We had a big family and we would spend every Christmas Eve and Day together. We would alternate houses, and if we had to go somewhere other than my house or my cousin’s then my Aunt Lahoma’s was my favorite place to be on Chrstimas Eve. She made homemade peanut butter cups and all kinds of homemade candies. Then all the adults would visit and basically torture the kids making them wait to open the presents. We opened on Christmas Eve and then Santa would come and we would get back together for Christmas dinner.

When I moved to Colorado and my dad lived here, we would go to church on Christmas Eve and then go back to his house on Christmas Day and spend the whole day opening presents and eating and just spending time together.  I remember Shelby’s first Christmas at my dad’s, her sleeping on my dad’s chest with him asleep too. 

Then my dad moved to Arizona and it was just our family for Christmas and  then my cousin Cindi moved here and it was a glimpse of the family Christmases of the past without the homemade peanut butter cups.  Now we’re parents and I’m learning this year to let go of the Rockwell portrait I’m holding on to and just be.  It’s actually quite freeing.

I do wish we had homemade peanut butter cups though.  I think I saw those in a Rockwell.

My dad died in June and this is the first Christmas without him and it’s so hard.  I miss him so much.  He loved Christmas and made such a big deal about it and made it so special for us.  But just like the Christmases from my childhood, it’s a constantly evolving tradition that we make for ourselves.

1 Comment

  1. Cindi

    I know I miss those times too – what great memories to have!
    We will make sure to have some Reeses on Christmas Eve as a nod to Honie and Teet.

Leave a Reply

