Walking on Sunshine

I love movies, I’ve never met a movie I didn’t like (almost).  Now there’s different scales of “love”.  For instance, Wanted was a little too bloody for my liking, but I wouldn’t have walked out, I just probably wouldn’t see it again even though Cindi and I have to see all things James MacAvoy.  I did love him in Becoming Jane and Penelope, oh, and Atonement, but that one was really sad.  I get caught up in movies and after we see one, my girls and I talk it to death and do lines from the movie and most recently we recited Bolt after only seeing it once on Thanksgiving. 

Seriously though, when Bridget Jones told Mark Darcy that he didn’t need to go out of his way to make her feel like an idiot because she already feels like an idiot most of the time, I felt like I could have said that line.  Most of the time I feel like a screw up no matter what I do.  I’m late, I don’t always know what’s going on in my kids’ schools, there have been times that I’ve forgotten to pick them up from somewhere, and it goes without saying, but I’m pretty absent minded.  I need to be reminded several times of things and not because they’re not important to me, but just because I have a lot going on.

So the past few weeks I’ve been feeling like I’ve got it going on, mostly because of my Christmas shopping triumphs.  I feel like I’ve been on top of things skipping down the street to the tune of Walking on Sunshine.  You can only imagine my own personal horror when I walk into church the night before Thanksgiving (early even) with my two pumpkin pies and two pumpkin breads for the annual 5th grade girls bake sale/fundraiser and find that there’s no fundraiser this year.  Thus bringing the end to my Walking on Sunshine montage.

That probably doesn’t seem bad to you.  However, when you constantly feel like a screw up and suddenly you’re doing everything right, but in the back of your mind feel like the other shoe is bound to drop and then it does, you just hear “wa wa wah” in your head. 

I got cocky, I started thinking I had it all together, but in the end, I’m still a work in progress.

1 Comment

  1. Cindi

    Aren’t we all a work in progress? The bake sale debacle worked out great for us – we got pumpkin bread!
    From one screw up to another.

Leave a Reply

